Hardware

Reply
New Member
Trumpet67
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-20-2012
Message 1 of 6 (360 Views)

Would this spec work for AutoCad & AutocadLT?

360 Views, 5 Replies
01-20-2012 04:12 AM

Hi folks,

 

Newbie here, to both the site & autocad :smileyhappy:

 

My SIL has asked me to spec a new PC for her. Although I regularly build & spec machines I've never had to do so specifically for an Autocad & AutocadLT.

She's looking for 2 machines, 1 will run Autocad, the other AutocadLT & will be upgraded to Autocad once funds are available.

Herewith the machine spec thus far - it's within a limited budget.

 

MB - Intel Burrage P67BG

CPU - Core i72600 3.40Ghz 8Mb L3

RAM - 2 x 4Gb DDR3-1333 Kingston modules

HDD - Seagate 500Gb 7200RPM 16Mb Cache SATA 3

Win 7 Home Premium

Graphics - Gainward Nvidia GeForce GTX550 Ti 1Gb DDR5

 

Your assistance is appreciated!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,276
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 6 (357 Views)

Re: Would this spec work for AutoCad & AutocadLT?

01-20-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: Trumpet67

Good specs for basic AutoCAd and LT use IMHO. Unless they never plan of adding a Server and creating domains, I would upgrade to Win7Pro to have that ability (hopefully you are discouraging a P2P setup).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 3 of 6 (355 Views)

Re: Would this spec work for AutoCad & AutocadLT?

01-20-2012 07:12 AM in reply to: pendean

Agree with Dean on the OS, though I'd upgrde the systems to SATA 6.0.  SATA 3.0 is dead.  The I7 is a bit overkill, if you wanted to save a bit you could easily get it done with the I5 2400 for a couple of hundred less.

 

Oh yeah, make sure it's a 64 bit OS.

 

Reid

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
New Member
Trumpet67
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-20-2012
Message 4 of 6 (341 Views)

Re: Would this spec work for AutoCad & AutocadLT?

01-21-2012 10:12 PM in reply to: Trumpet67

Thank you Dean & Reid. I appreciate the assistance :smileyhappy:

 

I'm a bit concerned about the graphics card as Autodesk do not list it under compatible hardware - in fact they do not list any of the Geforce cards.

 

Any comments? I'd hate to put a system together only to find that the graphics card was incompatible!

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 5 of 6 (335 Views)

Re: Would this spec work for AutoCad & AutocadLT?

01-22-2012 03:34 PM in reply to: Trumpet67

See my sig.  The ASUS card isn't Adsk blessed, but it runs C3d just fine.  That card should work just fine too.

 

Reid

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-09-2012
Message 6 of 6 (244 Views)

Re: Would this spec work for AutoCad & AutocadLT?

10-10-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: pendean
  • 2.90 GHz Intel Core i7-3520M
  • Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
  • 13" HD anti-glare LED-backlit display (1366 x 768)
  • NVIDIA NVS 5200M 1GB GDDR5 graphics
  • 8GB DDR3-1600 SDRAM 2 DIMMS
  • 500 GB 7200rpm hard drive

I'm assuming this would be suitable for running AutoCAD 2013. Am I right? This is one of the recommended laptops from my school. It's a Dell Latitude E6330.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community