AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 1 of 15 (342 Views)

Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

342 Views, 14 Replies
02-07-2013 12:50 AM

Hi,

 

Wondering if there is any way to select an Invalid Xref that is attached on multiple layouts and delete them at once instead of going through every single layout and deleting it manually.

 

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,295
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 15 (322 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-07-2013 04:29 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

Detach it in XREF command's popup Palette?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 3 of 15 (308 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-08-2013 03:58 AM in reply to: pendean

You can't detach an Xref without deleting the reference first.

Xref STMP has multiple references. Not detached.

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,295
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 15 (300 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-08-2013 05:09 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

Except for nested Xrefs, that's not always true. Is that what you have, a nested XREF?

What about QSELECT, FILTER and SELECTSIMILAR commands for selecting more than one instance of an object, any object?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 5 of 15 (292 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-08-2013 06:50 AM in reply to: pendean

I've tried unloading and detaching but there is no way to remove the Xref without deleting the references.

 

Qselect and selectsimilar only work in current paper/model-space. These Xref's are attached in every single Layout I have.

Not very familiar with Filter but as it seems I doesn't work for it either.

 

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,295
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 15 (283 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-08-2013 11:01 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

FILTER works but many of the AutoCAD commands like ERASE do not in multi-layouts. My bad, I forgot about these limitations.

 

If you want to send me a private message and attachment I'd really like to experiment with why you cannot detach (assuming it's not a nested Xref as noted earlier).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 7 of 15 (267 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-13-2013 12:53 AM in reply to: pendean
 
Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,295
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 15 (257 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-13-2013 05:47 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

Interesting files: you have a block in the top file with the same name as the XREF, so I could not bind it without renaming. And then it would never bind. You XREF is also a dynamic block?

Is the other XREF, STMP, also hard to detach? And is it a dynamic block too?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 9 of 15 (253 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-13-2013 06:00 AM in reply to: pendean

Both files are Dynamic blocks. STMP is an updated one to replace Inskrivningsfil.

 

The idea is all the general information for the project is controlled through the Xref "STMP" Previously "Inskrivningsfil".

The idea of having the "STMP" Dynamic is to control the layout of the STMP, for example. Right now I work for 2 different companys, to separate these in the project I simple change visibility state from within the STMP and the layout changes to whichever I choose, if I later wish to switch back I can do so without deleting any information.

 

I also have a block in each layout with attributes that are unique for each layout.

 

Both of these files cannot be detached without deleting every reference in every layout.

 

I didn't really understand the first part you said about renaming, works fine on my end.

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,295
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 15 (251 Views)

Re: Selecting Xref throughout Layouts.

02-13-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

I would have simply replaced the first Xref with the second Xref in the XREF Palette: without adding the second XREF.

Simply repath to the new file instead of the old, then rename the XREF.

 

Does that not work?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community