Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please -- I need help installing my old AutoCAD LT 2011 on new Windows OS

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
ameliaks
1672 Views, 18 Replies

Please -- I need help installing my old AutoCAD LT 2011 on new Windows OS

Hi.. Last week I had a systems crash and had to replace my old Windows XP OS with Windows 7. In the process (I'm an architect who uses AutoCAD LT on the PC side of my Mac via Parallels), I lost AutoCAD LT 2011 on my PC side.

I thought it would be simple enough to reinstall it from Autodesk, using my serial #, proof of purchase, etc., but it's proving a real headache. I have some questions:

-- I don't see where I can download AutoCAD LT 2011; I just see 2012. Should I download the 30-day trial version of 2012 and hope to use my old serial number to upgrade to it?

-- Not seeing any other option, I DID download the 30-day-trial of AutoCAD LT 2012, but I can't even open or run the .exe file. An MS-DOS screen flashes for a moment, unreadable, and nothing happens.

Can anyone help me?

Is it possible that you purchase a $1,200 piece of software and there's no one at Autodesk you can talk to to get help reinstalling it when you have a system meltdown? God knows I should buy AutoCAD for Mac and never have to worry about the PC side again in my life, but I don't have an extra $4,000 lying around. 

I'm desperate here. Can anyone help me? Any help would be much appreciated!!! Thank you!!!

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
heinsite
in reply to: ameliaks

You should be able to reinstall if you have the following three things:

1.  Original installation disk;

2.  Product Serial Number; and,

3.  Product Key.

The last two items are located on the original packaging.

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.