AutoCAD LT General

Reply
ron
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-19-2012
Message 1 of 6 (2,296 Views)

AutoCAD LT 2002 Gedit 3 Error

2296 Views, 5 Replies
11-19-2012 12:29 PM

We are using AutoCAD LT 2002.  When we start making changes to drawing files in the program, a GEDIT 3 Error message pops up. After selecting OK in the error message, it asks if you want to save a recoverable version of the drawing file, then proceeds to exit the program.  We have tried the repair AutoCAD and restarting the computer after the repair is complete.  That option did not solve the problem, so what would be the next option in trying to solve the error problem?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 6 (2,287 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2002 Gedit 3 Error

11-19-2012 01:57 PM in reply to: ron

Google the error.

You can search here but Google will get you the same results.

What is your OS?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,815
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 6 (2,280 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2002 Gedit 3 Error

11-19-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade
ron
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-19-2012
Message 4 of 6 (2,274 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2002 Gedit 3 Error

11-19-2012 03:34 PM in reply to: ron

I already googled the error.  I'm not finding anything that is helping me fix the problem.  All I have found is that uninstalling AVAST could maybe fix the problem, which I don't see AVAST installed on the computer or there could be a conflict with the hardware or software on the computer interfering with AutoCAD.  The operating system we use is Windows XP.  We also tried updating AutoCAD with the service pack that autodesk provides on their site which didn't work either.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 6 (2,263 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2002 Gedit 3 Error

11-20-2012 04:43 AM in reply to: ron

Autodesk Recommended Clean Install Procedure:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?linkID=9240817&id=2887771&siteID=123112

 

There is something on your system that is causing the error. An installed program of some sort.

Finding which one is the issue. AVAST is but one.

Short of starting over with the CAD install the next step is to format the hard-drive and start from scratch.

 

40 threads to read here with a simple Forum search:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message?filter=location&location=forum-board%3A4...

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,263
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 6 (2,261 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2002 Gedit 3 Error

11-20-2012 04:45 AM in reply to: ron

A recent software/driver add or change or upgrade/downgrade on your PCs triggered the GEDIT3 error in LT2002: sadly, LT2002 is prone to just a problem and there is no fix, and Autodesk is sure not spending any time on it since that version has been out of circulation for quite some time.

 

So, what changed on your PCs about the time this started showing up? Nothing would be an incorrect answer. It's always triggered by a change on the PC. It's not easy to find, but you can start now without a Google search.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community