AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
Message 1 of 4 (209 Views)

good practice for setting up files in civil 3d??..??

209 Views, 3 Replies
03-08-2013 12:44 PM

So seeing how civil 3D utilizes data references, i am wondering what are some good practices for setting up projects?

 

I am use to using xrefs and having a different drawing file for each, should i do the same in civil 3d? or have a "master" design file?

 

reason i ask, is i am cutting some sections and noticed that a corridor model cannot be data referenced, so do i need to cut my sections in my main file or can i data reference all my surfaces/alingments and XREF my corridor model, and still get the cross sections to show based on the corridor section?

 

Make sense?

 

Im thinking i shoudl do something like so:

 

Alignment.dwg (create data reference)

Eg surface.dwg (create data reference)

Profiles.dwg (create data refeernces)

corridor model.dwg (with above data references) and use as my xref

Corridor surface.dwg (can i create this using the corridor model as an xref??)

FG surface.dwg

 

right now i have a main design file ( as I am still earning this stuff) but seems like it can cause me issues in the future.  based on previous autcad knowledge.

 

thanks

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,314
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 4 (191 Views)

Re: good practice for setting up files in civil 3d??..??

03-08-2013 01:44 PM in reply to: sonnyamorales

Hey Sonny,

 

Take a look at the Project Management link here:

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2013/ENU/index.html?url=filesCBP/GUID-394E4463-964C-4233-BC27-5ECB5B0...

 

This should give you a solid foundation to start from.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
Message 3 of 4 (159 Views)

Re: good practice for setting up files in civil 3d??..??

03-09-2013 10:20 AM in reply to: tcorey

Tim,

 

Thanks, after reading that and thinking about it, I went ahead and seperated my drawings into smaller ones (as im used to doing).

 

So much to learn so little time!! hahah

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,616
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 4 (145 Views)

Re: good practice for setting up files in civil 3d??..??

03-09-2013 10:54 PM in reply to: sonnyamorales
Yes, you can XREF a corridor and sample it in your sample lines. XREFed surfaces too. You'll need to DREF the alignment od course.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs