AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 1 of 13 (346 Views)

Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

346 Views, 12 Replies
01-10-2013 09:40 AM

For whatever reason, working with MrSids aerials with Civil 3D 2012 & 2013 is really slow these days.  Three of us CAD techs have Dell Precision T3500 PC's with 24 GB of RAM with Windows 7.  I worked with the same aerials 4 years ago using ust 4 GB of RAM with Windows XP.  Is there a better type of aerial technology to work with rather than the MrSid aerials? Should we try to get the County to purchase another type of aerial technology to more easily depict the County so we can more quickly produce aerial roadways with stationed alignments..  Dave

 

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 13 (332 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 11:26 AM in reply to: lissaucad

Are you attaching these as FDO connections, or are you inserting the image into the drawing?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,493
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 13 (330 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: lissaucad

lissaucad wrote:

Is there a better type of aerial technology to work with rather than the MrSid aerials?


Yes sir, connect to a WMS server.

*Pro
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 4 of 13 (324 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 11:46 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

do you find that those types of images are handled more easily by C3D?   I'm not very familiar with wms servers.   Does your firm pay to have access to these or are there free one's out there?

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 5 of 13 (322 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 11:47 AM in reply to: dgordon

There are some free WMS servers out there.  If I have a SID image, I usually just "connect" it rather than insert the image.  Performance is much better.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,109
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 13 (316 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: dgordon

There are lots of free WMS services with imagery, but WMS servers will only serve the content of the service provider. Usually their offerings are old and/or low resolution and load times may not be any better than loading your own imagery.

 

If you have specific imagery that you want to use you'll need to reference them locally. Autocad has always been doggy with imagery. Using Map's FDO connection vs. inserting can improve performance and it also allows for the imagery to dynamically reproject to different coordinate systems. The down side to FDO and WMS is the images won't load for users who don't have Map.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Pro
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 7 of 13 (304 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 12:32 PM in reply to: TRogers

i did a fdo connect to raster image of one of our sid files and i did not notice any difference in performance over just having the image inserted into the drawing.

 

i'm finding it very difficult to find a free wms service to connect to.   quite often it asks for user name and password of which i  have neither.

 

anyone have any suggestions?

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 13 (301 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 12:36 PM in reply to: dgordon

Username and password are usually blank, you just hit OK.  Here is a link to some good WMS sites with username and password info...

 

http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/gis/ogcwms.html

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Pro
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 9 of 13 (292 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 01:07 PM in reply to: TRogers

do any of these web services work for you?

 

NAIP Imagery - What's NAIP?
http://ge-nt.ncmhtd.com/cgi-bin/naip2010.cgi? - NAIP 2010
http://ge-nt.ncmhtd.com/cgi-bin/naip2010ir.cgi? - NAIP 2010 IR
http://ge-nt.ncmhtd.com/cgi-bin/naip2009.cgi? - NAIP 2009
http://ge-nt.ncmhtd.com/cgi-bin/naip2009ir.cgi? - NAIP 2009 IR
http://ge-nt.ncmhtd.com/cgi-bin/naip2008.cgi? - NAIP 2008
http://ge-nt.ncmhtd.com/cgi-bin/naip2006.cgi? - NAIP 2006

1998 DOQQs - What are DOQQs?
http://ge-nt.ncmhtd.com/cgi-bin/doqq1998.cgi? - DOQQ 1998
http://ge-nt.ncmhtd.com/cgi-bin/doqq1998.cgi? - DOQQ 1998 IR

 

I can't get any of them to connect.

 

I get this message every time

 

fdo connect error.png

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 10 of 13 (286 Views)

Re: Working with MrSids aerials are really slow Civil 3D 12 & 13

01-10-2013 01:21 PM in reply to: dgordon

Works for me, but if you scroll to the bottom of the website I sent you, there are links to better places.  The ones you listed are exclusive to North Carolina.  The links are under the WMS Indexes and Servers.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs