AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 11 of 23 (260 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 08:57 AM in reply to: jmayo

I would convert the line to FL then the lables style is easy:smileywink:

 

Also depending on the magnitude I might just snap surface lables to the end points.

 

Or profile the ep and use alignment lable style

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 12 of 23 (255 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 09:15 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

"I would convert the line to FL then the lables style is easy"

 

Yeah this is nice for smaller projects. With roadwork, pipe lines or larger projects I like a hidden alignment with ref labels but you need to be careful not to lose links as well. You need to know a couple of hard to find secrets to re-assign alg srf ref labels quickly. 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 13 of 23 (256 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 09:15 AM in reply to: jmayo

johnm wrote:

The labels on the magenta line are ref txt surf elev's. Sorry I forgot to mention that you need to slide the grip at the center of the to the end or start point as required.


John,

 

That label style scares me. It looks like the text is labeling the elevation of the end but it doesn't necessarily mean that it is. It could be labeling anything between the beggining and end of the line. I would much rather have the text attached to the label location so I can be certain of what exactly is being labeled. This, of course, is my personal opinion.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 14 of 23 (249 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 09:27 AM in reply to: jmayo

Not alignment surface lables; profile grade labels via code set labels for pgl

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 15 of 23 (245 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 10:46 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Yet another way!

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 16 of 23 (242 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 11:00 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Boo!!

 

:smileyhappy:

 

It works fine for us and it provides the OP exactly what he was looking for. Between you, Joe and myself he has many options to consider as he moves forward.

 

Note that that file has 5 different labels styles in use. I am attaching a new file that has a fixed curve label for the srf ref. If you take one of the labels that you are now instructed to drag it gets the surafce elevation without any issue anywhere along the feature line.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 17 of 23 (239 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 11:02 AM in reply to: jmayo

The other labels are not meant to be dragged. Only the ones with the word 'point' in the label name The others are suppose to be pinned to start or end and report the elevation there from either a Fline or srf.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 18 of 23 (234 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 11:29 AM in reply to: jmayo

johnm wrote:

 

It works fine for us and it provides the OP exactly what he was looking for. Between you, Joe and myself he has many options to consider as he moves forward.


I disagree. The OP wants to label the elevation of the start or end of the featureline without having to move the grip. If you look in your drawing on the magenta line, all three labels have the same elevation. If you adjust the grips to correct location, you'll see the elevations of the labels change as you move the grip.

 

In THIS VIDEO I added spot elevations for the surface at the ends of the lines and you can see your labels don't match the elevation of the surface. In order to get them to match, you have to adjust the label location.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 19 of 23 (227 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Sorry the last file was in 2013 format. Here it is in 2012 format.

 

I see what you are seeing Brian but since the video did not run for me let me explain this better for the OP. Bottom line do not use the labels with the srf ref that anchor on the start or end unless you drag the label. All the other labels work w/o any more interaction.

 

I stay away from surface ref labels at end/start points. I only use srf ref if I need a label between two vertices and that is rare because I typically will place a PI or Elv Pnt. I create small FLine models a lot. I label the the model and xref it directly into sheets for printing. My curbs, blds and all edge of pavement elvation labels come from the feature lines themselves.

 

Thankfully you reminded me again why I don't use the srf labels at the start/end points. Again it works perfectly with dragging but I find it much better getting the elevation from the FL that is creating the surface than from the surface. If the FL is not defining the surface it is still very quick and easy to get the elevations from the surface and you don't have to deal with ref's.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 20 of 23 (224 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 12:11 PM in reply to: jmayo

Ok saw the video. Just what I described. If you use the srf ref pinned to the start or end you need to drag.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs