AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 11 (145 Views)

Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

145 Views, 10 Replies
01-21-2013 02:26 PM

This is my expression in my dwt file:

 

IF({Floor Thickness}=0.5,0,IF({Floor Thickness}=3.0,{Insertion Rim Elevation}-2.67,IF({Floor Thickness}=5.5,{Insertion Rim Elevation}-5.5,0)))

 

This is the same expression upon startup:

 

IF(=0.5,0,IF(=3.0,{Insertion Rim Elevation}-2.67,IF(=5.5,{Insertion Rim Elevation}-5.5,0)))

 

If I use file new or the new icon I get wahts in the dwt file.

 

Any ideas what going on here?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,308
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 11 (136 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-21-2013 03:21 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe, I tested it and I can confirm the behavior you're describing. I tested it by specifying the template in the target line of my shortcut, but it gave the same results.

 

And, like you described, when you load the program and then start a new drawing using the template, the expresssion display exactly as you typed it in.

 

You could work around this with a startup script or using acaddoc.lsp.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 11 (127 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-21-2013 04:37 PM in reply to: tcorey

Hi Tim,

 

Thanks for the confirmation.

 

Hows that scrpit go?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Message 4 of 11 (123 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-21-2013 04:43 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

In the startup setting, is Finished FLoor defined and initialized?  That could be why it kicks it out.

In the template dwg, you have defined it.

 

Surveyor Lee

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 11 (112 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-21-2013 06:15 PM in reply to: SurveyorLee

Thats {Floor Thickness} its a OOTB pipenetwork parameter. I'm sure its there to start with

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,308
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 6 of 11 (96 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-22-2013 08:47 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:

Hi Tim,

 

Thanks for the confirmation.

 

Hows that scrpit go?


Hi Joe,

 

The contents of the script file are:

new "C:\Users\timc\AppData\Local\Autodesk\C3D 2013\enu\Template\_DeleteMe.dwt"

 

I tested this solution and your expression remains intact if you run this startup script. In case you don't know how to specify the startup script, you can add it as the last parameter on the target line of your startup icon. Here is my target as an example:

 

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\acad.exe" /ld "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\AecBase.dbx" /p "<<C3D_Imperial>>" /s "C:\Users\timc\Documents\_Support\UserGroup\20130122\startup.scr"

 

I used the bold italics so you can see the part I added for the script

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,308
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 7 of 11 (90 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-22-2013 09:13 AM in reply to: tcorey

Hold on a minute. I tested with the script command and the script works, but I forgot to test the shortcut and it's not working. Doh.

 

I'll post once I get it right.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 11 (87 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-22-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: tcorey

I look forward

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,308
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 9 of 11 (85 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-22-2013 09:20 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Wow, dumb mistake. The /s I used on the target line should be /b:

 

 /b "C:\Users\timc\Documents\_Support\UserGroup\20130122\startup.scr"

 

Works like a charm.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 11 (71 Views)

Re: Expression paramters vacate expression upon file new and startup

01-22-2013 01:41 PM in reply to: tcorey

Hi Tim

 

I'm not following the startup script you speak of. I need to create it? what is the DeleteMe.dwt ?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs