AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,129
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 11 of 23 (1,193 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 01:06 PM in reply to: rick_JWMA

What coordinate system do you want this in?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-12-2013
Message 12 of 23 (1,192 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: TRogers

UTM with NAD 83 Datum, Zone 10, US Foot, Central Meridian 123d W

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,129
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 13 of 23 (1,190 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: rick_JWMA

See if this is what you want...if so, I will give you instructions.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-12-2013
Message 14 of 23 (1,187 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 01:16 PM in reply to: TRogers

Yes!,

 

Exactly what I am looking for.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,129
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 15 of 23 (1,175 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 01:26 PM in reply to: rick_JWMA

Ok.  You were doing the correct procedure at first.  

 

1.  Import points into C3D

2.  Output tab of the ribbon, Export Civil Objects to SDF

3.  Set your projection

4.  MAPIMPORT, select SDF file you just created

5.  Uncheck everything except for Points.  In the Data column click in the cell, then click the ellipsis...

 

1.PNG

 

6.  Once in there, toggle the radio button for Create Object Data, the select the button for Select Fields...

 

2.PNG

 

7.  Make sure they are all checked, then click OK.

8.  Now you can MAPEXPORT out to a SHP file.

 

Good luck!!

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 16 of 23 (1,168 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 01:34 PM in reply to: rick_JWMA

If you want to avoid jumping through hoops, MapWorks Points contains Point Shapefile Read/Write tools that (in the case of export) creates a shapefile directly from the AECC_POINTS in a quick single step.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,129
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 17 of 23 (1,167 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 01:36 PM in reply to: TerryDotson
Another good program is Global Mapper.


Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE Smartphone
If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 18 of 23 (1,154 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 02:53 PM in reply to: TRogers

It is very good, but it doesn't read AECC_POINTS inside Civil3D.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,862
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 19 of 23 (1,142 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 04:07 PM in reply to: rick_JWMA

The quickest and easy way I would do it is save the civil3D dwg as an AutoCAD dwg file format. (ExporttoAutoCAD)

Then in that dwg use map export to export to ESRI shp format. When you export open the "Options" tab, click on "Drivers" and check the radio button for 3D.

Simple and no 3rd party or other formats needed other than the dumb down AutoCAD dwg format.

 

3dshp.png

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 20 of 23 (1,133 Views)

Re: Exporting Civil 3D Points to Shapefile with "Z" Elevation

04-12-2013 06:12 PM in reply to: Murph

Simple and no 3rd party ...

 

Also your procedure gives you no point numbers, no descriptions, etc.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs