AutoCAD Architecture General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
Message 1 of 4 (425 Views)
Accepted Solution

Text in Dynamic Block Not Reading Correctly When Mirrored

425 Views, 3 Replies
11-27-2012 07:32 AM

Attached is a dynamic block of a smoke/c.o. detector. I have a few of these on a floor plan and at times the entire floor plan needs to be mirrored. I would like the text itself to mirror as well so I don't have to select each dynamic block and mirror it again to read correctly.

I have mirrtext set to 0. I have read that creating attributes will solve this problem however I have created attributes in the dynamic block and I still cannot get it to read correctly when mirrored.

Anyone who can help me through this?

Product Support
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎11-01-2005
Message 2 of 4 (406 Views)

Re: Text in Dynamic Block Not Reading Correctly When Mirrored

11-29-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: forseyc

The behavior stems from your attributes being defined with the Constant property set to 'yes'.  When that is the case, the attribute text will mirror and not adjust to be readable.  I've attached a drawing to this post in which the block does what you want it to do, and the attributes are instead set to 'Preset'.

 

Additionally, I found another thread where this same kind of thing was discussed, and some sample file were attached to some of those posts.  Here is the link:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2006/Text-mirrored-within-blocks/td-p/1668869/highlight/true

 

Please post back here and let me know if the file I attached here behaves as you want.



Zac Travis
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
Message 3 of 4 (393 Views)

Re: Text in Dynamic Block Not Reading Correctly When Mirrored

11-30-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: ztravis

Zach,

 

Thanks a lot - it works great.  I don't know how you did it as I tried all different things but couldn't get the result I wanted. Now I have to update all these "detector" blocks in all my base house files - any easy way to do that.  I'll do a little research too.

 

Thanks again

Product Support
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎11-01-2005
Message 4 of 4 (389 Views)

Re: Text in Dynamic Block Not Reading Correctly When Mirrored

11-30-2012 09:40 AM in reply to: forseyc

Glad to hear that it works with preset attributes.  You could try ATTSYNC to update the existing instances of the block.  Alternately, if you have the Express Tools installed, there is one called BLOCKREPLACE, and that might work.  You'd probably need to rename the new one and use it to replace the old ones.



Zac Travis

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community