AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
Message 1 of 8 (256 Views)
Accepted Solution

Hide elements of same layer for printing

256 Views, 7 Replies
02-28-2013 02:22 PM

I'm trying to print a certain window of my drawing, but I'm not wanting to print every element contained within that window. How do I hide these elements when they're on the same layer as other elements that I want to print?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 8 (250 Views)

Re: Hide elements of same layer for printing

02-28-2013 02:30 PM in reply to: CAD105

It can be done with autolisp, but because you said you're new with autocad it would be too deep for you.

 

Make a new layer and move them,  turn the layer off or start using more layers.

 

Valued Mentor
Posts: 438
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 3 of 8 (249 Views)

Re: Hide elements of same layer for printing

02-28-2013 02:30 PM in reply to: CAD105

HIDEOBJECTS command?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 8 (242 Views)

Re: Hide elements of same layer for printing

02-28-2013 02:34 PM in reply to: sthompson1021

Does 2013 plain autocad has that command now? it didn't have them before.

Cool

Valued Mentor
Posts: 438
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 5 of 8 (240 Views)

Re: Hide elements of same layer for printing

02-28-2013 02:37 PM in reply to: Patchy

I'm using plain autocad and it worked for me. Just switched from LT so I guess I didn't know that it didn't work before:smileysurprised:

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 8 (223 Views)

Re: Hide elements of same layer for printing

02-28-2013 02:49 PM in reply to: sthompson1021
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
Message 7 of 8 (218 Views)

Re: Hide elements of same layer for printing

02-28-2013 02:58 PM in reply to: Patchy

Nice. Good link. Thanks! I used HIDEOBJECTS, but it looks like ISOLATEOBJECTS would work too. 

Valued Mentor
Posts: 438
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 8 of 8 (195 Views)

Re: Hide elements of same layer for printing

02-28-2013 06:25 PM in reply to: CAD105

One more thought on this. If you're using blocks  to create the items you are hiding you can use the select similar comand to select them all at once instead of picking them one by one, Hope this helps.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube