AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
andrew30
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
Message 1 of 6 (192 Views)

Dimension Anomaly

192 Views, 5 Replies
03-05-2013 06:12 AM

I dimension a rectangle as shown in the attachments.

 

I get a problem with dimensioning anything that is " 3/8" ". I know that sounds weird but this is the case. It always shows up as 5/16" unless I change the precision to an eigth. Please see attachments to understand what I mean.

 

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,471
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 2 of 6 (153 Views)

Re: Dimension Anomaly

03-05-2013 07:07 AM in reply to: andrew30

3/8" = .375, your image shows .325

Contributor
andrew30
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
Message 3 of 6 (138 Views)

Re: Dimension Anomaly

03-05-2013 07:10 AM in reply to: GrantsPirate

Yes thanks please check the second attachment showing the dimensioned rectangle..

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,283
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 6 (136 Views)

Re: Dimension Anomaly

03-05-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: andrew30
If you draw it at 3/8, you get 3/8. Precision drafting demands it. Don't fudge, use DIST or LIST commands and check your work all the time.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 718
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 5 of 6 (123 Views)

Re: Dimension Anomaly

03-05-2013 07:33 AM in reply to: andrew30

First, your rectangle isn't 1 3/8" in length.  It is 1.325" long.  0.325 is closer to 5/16" than 3/8".  When you set your dimension style to a precision of 1/16th, your rectangle would have to be more than 1 11/32" or 1.34375" to show 1 3/8" for a dimension.

Secondly, as Dean wrote, why not just draw it to 1.375" in length, if that is what you want the dimension to read??  Makes no sense to try and "fudge" the dimension read-out with precision.  No anomaly with what you are doing.  It is pretty chrystal clear to the rest of us.

Contributor
andrew30
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
Message 6 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: Dimension Anomaly

03-05-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: steve216586

Nice i found myself in the error again. lol. and such a dumb one. guess its time for a vacation..:smileyembarrassed:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube