AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Message 1 of 7 (1,310 Views)

Center of Gravity

1310 Views, 6 Replies
12-22-2012 07:39 AM

Hello, is it possible in AUTOCAD to know the CENTER OF GRAVITY OF A VEHICLE?

I am a physicist and I need to verify my result in getting the COG of a vehicle design. I knew nothing from AUTOCAD so I am asking for your help guys! Thanks a lot! 

*Expert Elite*
Message 2 of 7 (1,304 Views)

Re: Center of Gravity

12-22-2012 10:42 AM in reply to: roeljohn

It'd probably be easier to build the car and then put it on a set of scales than to model an entire automobile in AutoCAD just to find that coordinate.  AutoCAD can easily determine the center of mass of a solid with a unit weight of 1.  You would need to separately calculate the solids of each specific gravity and then do a weighted average on your own.

Message 3 of 7 (1,300 Views)

12-22-2012 11:47 AM in reply to: roeljohn

Okay buddy thanks! So your are saying that it is easier and reliable to solve it on pen and paper?

Model each part then solve for the specific gravity of each then do a weighted average? <- is this one possible in CAD?

But do you know other methods on how can I verify the calculated COG?

*Expert Elite*
Message 4 of 7 (1,278 Views)

12-23-2012 11:40 AM in reply to: roeljohn

If you just modelled the primary steel parts with solids and ignored the foam, plastic, skin, and wiring, you should be able to get pretty close.  Sticking with a single material could give you a pretty good idea.  Once you've done the solid modelling, use the massprop command.

*Expert Elite*
Message 5 of 7 (1,265 Views)

12-24-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: roeljohn

roeljohn wrote:

<- is this one possible in CAD?

Autodesk Inventor.

Getting the COG is trivial (Inventor iProperties will calculate that for you), the work is in modeling the vehicle.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.