AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,274
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 11 of 16 (690 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2013 OPENS AS AUTOCAD MECHANICAL ALL OF A SUDDEN

11-19-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: gearknox

Right click on the desktop icon and select Properties.

 

Make sure your Target is something like

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\acad.exe"  /P AutoCAD

(where the AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 is replaced with the appropriate folder name for Mechanical)

and

the Start in is something like

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\UserDataCache\"

Target.png

 

and after starting AutoCAD check Options>Profile and make sure it is on AutCAD...

 

Profile.PNG

 

Mechanical (and as you can see Civil 3D) run on top of vanilla AutoCAD.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 4,710
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 12 of 16 (683 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2013 OPENS AS AUTOCAD MECHANICAL ALL OF A SUDDEN

11-19-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: JDMather

Along with the profile name argument, there may also be an /ld argument for loading the ARX support file at start-up.  This should be ommitted for running OOTB AutoCAD.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Pro
Posts: 2,510
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 13 of 16 (683 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2013 OPENS AS AUTOCAD MECHANICAL ALL OF A SUDDEN

11-19-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: gearknox

Your request is not unreasonable, but I'm afraid I'm not in a position to assist in that way.

 

I see that JDMather has posted a new reply, so maybe he will be willing (I know he's able) to give you more detailed help.

 

By the way, there's not a lot of difference between 2012 and 2013 products, and 2013 gives you the advantage of being up-to-date with the file format.  I know you will be able to get the 2013 product to behave the way you want, so you shouldn't feel any regret about choosing it.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎08-24-2004
Message 14 of 16 (434 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2013 OPENS AS AUTOCAD MECHANICAL ALL OF A SUDDEN

11-27-2012 01:59 PM in reply to: JDMather

When I bring up the properties window, the target window  is grayed out and cannot be modified. 

 

How does one get around that problem?

 

Thanks

 

Bob Price

 

*Pro
Posts: 2,510
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 15 of 16 (429 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2013 OPENS AS AUTOCAD MECHANICAL ALL OF A SUDDEN

11-27-2012 02:08 PM in reply to: gearknox

If you are trying to modify a shortcut you copied from Start, Programs, etc., you cannot edit it.

You must create a new shortcut on the desktop from scratch.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 16 of 16 (267 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2013 OPENS AS AUTOCAD MECHANICAL ALL OF A SUDDEN

05-27-2013 11:49 PM in reply to: gearknox

Hi Guys.

 

this feedback and posts are all well and great,

but can someone explain why AutoCAD default to the last install?

ie I have a Product design suite with A civil 3d package,

Autocad seems to open through the Autocad Icon, but with Civil 3d,

and if I open a .dwg from the vault, there is no consistency,

sometimes open with AutoCAD, sometimes with Mechanical, and then with Civil 3d,

how Can i set this to use one application only for all .dwg files, and keep it to default to that.

secondly, is there an Internal variable or macro that control this?

 

Jaco

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube