AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 1 of 12 (436 Views)

Text

436 Views, 11 Replies
03-15-2013 02:20 PM

Which settings or where do I go to set my drawing Style, Text height and line space factor on all my drawings in one shot. It is frustrating going through many drawings changing it. Please let me know.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,488
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 12 (407 Views)

Re: Text

03-16-2013 01:35 AM in reply to: Justin2012

Hi,

 

you might use something like ScriptPro (>>>click<<<, but there are more links where you can get downloads), so you can write a script and let this run through all drawings.

 

>> [...] on all my drawings in one shot [...]

Are you sure you really want to have that done without looking to the drawing? E.g. Changing the font will result in changing the width of the text too ==> so some text might cross now through other geometry, will not fit in fields you have reserved, .... Especially the changes to linespacing will give a very "different" looking (only available for MTEXT, not for other text-like-objects like TEXT or attributes).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 12 (346 Views)

Re: Text

03-18-2013 06:13 PM in reply to: Justin2012
Are these drawings from an outside source or why are you having to change them?
"It is frustrating going through many drawings changing it. Please let me know."
Is it something where creating a template to start clean with every new drawing created
would help so they wouldn't need to be changed?
Jay

C3D 2012 SP3 & C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 4 of 12 (317 Views)

Re: Text

03-20-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: Jay_B

It is an in house drawing. For example, how can I make the width factor on a draiwng to be 1.00". Currently it is coming as 2.00". This means I have to go change it all the time.

The same goes for the  text style. It is currently set as "Standard" but sometime I want it to be "Romant".

 

There must be a setting somewhere for this. Please advise how can I change it per the darwing then? Thanks you.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 5 of 12 (315 Views)

Re: Text

03-20-2013 05:47 AM in reply to: Justin2012

You set the text style settings here. Command STYLE. This should be done in your drawing templates you start new drawings with. See help information for "Qnew" templlate setting in your profile.

 

You always want the height set to zero in the style.

 

You can add styles using various fonts but if you always want standard to be Romant", simply set that shx for Standard style.

 

The width factor should be set to 1.

 

txt.JPG

Jay

C3D 2012 SP3 & C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 6 of 12 (300 Views)

Re: Text

03-20-2013 12:54 PM in reply to: Jay_B

When I change the style and set it as current, nothing changes and it goes back to the previous style. How can I make the new style take effect and if possible change the old to a new style?

 

I change the withfactor to 0.7 but it stays 1 all the time. How should I make it to reflect the 0.7 after I change it?

Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 7 of 12 (297 Views)

Re: Text

03-20-2013 01:40 PM in reply to: Justin2012

Also, in addition, how can I automate the changes without clicking on the device again .

For example, my current drawing have a text with STYLE romant.shx @ 1 width fator.

I use the STYLE command and change it to 1 but it doesn't update the drawing unless I manually do it.

My question is ,  how can it change to 0.7 (width factor) automatically with out manually clicking on it?

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 8 of 12 (289 Views)

Re: Text

03-20-2013 02:45 PM in reply to: Justin2012

I'm confused when you say you change the width & it won't stay?

A global drawing change to the font will only take place if that style exists in the drawing first. (otherwise must change the styles manually for existing text).

I'm able change the width factor of a present style & the text width factor will update. (you may have to regenall to see).

If your listing text in Properties palette that width spacing factor isn't the same setting.

The "Width factor" in the previous caption posted becomes the "Ribbon Spinner Width Factor" in mtext format options. Also created two style examples where same arial.shx font was used, same text height used. (see attached captions).

The difference in the 2 is one has a width factor of 0.50 & the other 1.00.

 

Exit AutoCad & reopen & they function normally & styles widths are as they were set in style dialog.

Jay

C3D 2012 SP3 & C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Active Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-23-2006
Message 9 of 12 (267 Views)

Re: Text

03-21-2013 10:57 AM in reply to: Justin2012

1. change width via STYLE.

2. Regen All (REA)

3. It will only change MText, but not Text. All new Text typed will have to carry new settings.

 

Cheers

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 10 of 12 (213 Views)

Re: Text

03-27-2013 12:45 PM in reply to: cadlana

I am talking about changing the width factor in the properties palette. How can I do this automatiaclly?

 

If I understand correctly the width factor in the STYLE is the Ribbon Spinner Width factor. I am sorry but I've nevre use this. What's the use of it? 

 

Thanks.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube