AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-09-2013
Message 1 of 14 (221 Views)
Accepted Solution

How can I skip autorecovery?

221 Views, 13 Replies
10-09-2013 10:46 AM

So, I got a bad drawing from a vendor today, which locked up autocad.  Now, each time I start, it tries to "auto recover" and gets hung again.

 

Is there a way to start Autocad in "safe mode" or something similar?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 14 (212 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-09-2013 10:57 AM in reply to: MattWFGW

Try RECOVERYMODE

Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-09-2013
Message 3 of 14 (210 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-09-2013 10:59 AM in reply to: Patchy

Thanks, but don't I need to enter that in on the command line?  CAD hard locks as soon as it starts.  Is there a way to set the recoverymode switch from outside of the program?

*Pro
Posts: 2,489
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 4 of 14 (198 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-09-2013 11:14 AM in reply to: MattWFGW

"Is there a way to set the recoverymode switch from outside of the program?"

 

There probably is, but it doesn't have to be that complicated.

RECOVERYMODE is a system-wide variable (stored in the registry), so if you launch AutoCAD with some other DWG (or no DWG), and change the setting, when you then attempt to open your problem DWG it will be set the way you want it.

However, I don't think this will solve your issue.

Try launching AutoCAD as described above and use the RECOVER command to attempt to "fix" the problem DWG.

*Pro
Posts: 2,489
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 5 of 14 (189 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-09-2013 11:26 AM in reply to: dmfrazier

Pardon my stupidity.  I misunderstood your situation.

I will investigate further...

Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-09-2013
Message 6 of 14 (189 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-09-2013 11:26 AM in reply to: dmfrazier

I appologize... I must not be explaining this well.

 

When I open AutoCAD with no drawing, or any old known-good drawing, it still opens the drawing recovery manager (listing a handful of recently used drawings under "Backup Files", including my problem drawing), and then locks up.  Hard.  No mouse action.  No ability to type on the command line.  Dead.

 

At this point, I'm not at all concerned with getting that problem drawing to work.  I just want to use my CAD again.

 

So, if I poke around in the registry, I'll find a Recoverymode setting, and maybe should set it to zero?

 

I appologize if I'm being thick-headed, and I do appreciate you guys trying to help me.

 

MW

*Pro
Posts: 2,489
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 7 of 14 (176 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-09-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: MattWFGW

Again, my apologies.  (You explained it fine.  My brain was napping.)

 

If you want to try a registry edit, I think this is the key (assuming AutoCAD 2010):

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R18.0\ACAD-8005:409\Profiles\<your profile>\Drawing Recovery\
LoggedFileCount

 

Change it to 0 (zero).

If you see a list of "LoggedFile(n)" entries above the "LoggedFileCount" DWord, these (particularly if the path points to the problem file) can be removed.

 

If you are nervous about editing the registry, another option would be to re-load a previously exported profile (ARG, assuming you have one), which will contain the same key string, but based on a time before the problem DWG came along.  You can launch AutoCAD with that profile by creating a temporary desktop launch shortcut with the /p switch, so the target would look like:

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\<your product>\acad.exe" /p <your profile>.

 

Hope this (actually) helps.

 

(P.S. I don't think the registry tweak above changes the RECOVERYMODE variable.  Instead it just removes the changes to the registry made when that variable is set to record recovery info.  I couldn't find a registry entry that clearly was meant for storing the RECOVERYMODE setting itself.)

Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-09-2013
Message 8 of 14 (165 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-09-2013 12:40 PM in reply to: dmfrazier

WooHoo!  You got me 99.9% of the way there!

 

Followed your path in the registry... still hung.

Drilled down one more folder named "Unresolved", which had similar entries of file count and file names... cleared them out as well... still hung.

Rebooted computer after all of that and I, my friend, am back in business!

 

I REALLY appreciate the help!

*Pro
Posts: 2,489
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 9 of 14 (129 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-10-2013 05:50 AM in reply to: MattWFGW

Even a blind squirrel (me, not you) finds a nut now and then. :smileywink:

Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-09-2013
Message 10 of 14 (127 Views)

Re: How can I skip autorecovery?

10-10-2013 05:55 AM in reply to: dmfrazier

You, Sir, are a steely-eyed CAD master !

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube