AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 1 of 29 (1,145 Views)

Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

1145 Views, 28 Replies
07-03-2013 09:13 AM

I have been sent a DWG floor plan from a firm in South America. The existing file is Type: Decimal  and Units to scale: Meters. We need to convert the file to a useable architectural and feet set up. I know that I will need to scale the existing dwg however I am not sure what the exact steps are or what I should scale it by. Should I cahnge the drawing units first and then scale? Or the other way around? Biggest thing I need is the scale factor.

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,466
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 29 (1,138 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-03-2013 09:28 AM in reply to: beh160

Hi,

 

if you create a new drawing, set it's settings to your units and run then command _INSERT (to insert the meter-drawing) AutoCAD should scale the drawing by units-factor itself.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,241
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 29 (1,132 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-03-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
OR... just use SCALE command in the actual file: you know the ratio between inches/feet and meters/cm/mm, right?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 4 of 29 (1,130 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-03-2013 09:48 AM in reply to: pendean

No I am sorry but I do not know the scale factor between feet and meters. We have never had this issue come up before. And I can not just scale using referance because the South American architect is going to need to scale this back to meters at some point.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 4,705
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 29 (1,119 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-03-2013 10:50 AM in reply to: beh160

Unless there is a technical requirement to do your work in Imperial, I would suggest designing in meters.  Converting from one to the other, doing work, and converting back again will cause no end of problems eg. commercial objects designed to Imperial values may have dimensional differences than those designed to Metric values.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 6 of 29 (1,117 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-03-2013 10:55 AM in reply to: dgorsman

Unfortunatly this project would be very hard to do with out converting to imperial. We are working with a great number of standard sizes that need to be used and because of who our client is the project needs to be prosented to them in feet and inches.

 

I know there will be complications however this is the position we are in so I need to figure put the best way to do this.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 7 of 29 (1,109 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-03-2013 01:32 PM in reply to: pendean

Scaling drawings can be painful.  Text, dimensions, blocks, etc. can freak out.

 

Is everything in modelspace?

Did they use annotative in their text and attributes?

Did they use sheet sets?

 

Please mark "Accept as Solution" if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,241
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 29 (1,104 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-03-2013 01:44 PM in reply to: beh160
If the file needs to go back, your best approach would be to XREF their files and do your work in your files only, leaving the originals intact.
Otherwise you will be sending back an even bigger mess for them to try to fix.

IMHO you both and your mutual client need to take about these procedures and processes: neither one of you is an island here. Work together, and XREF.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,238
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 29 (1,089 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-03-2013 02:44 PM in reply to: beh160

beh160 wrote:
 Biggest thing I need is the scale factor.

 

Thank you.


What does the command line return if you type -dwgunts (with the - sign)?

Are you familiar with HS Algebra?

Often when I see questions like this, the OP isn't certain of the true scale.

Can you attach part of the file here?  That would help to avoid a game of 20 questions.
Then I can supply the formula...

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,012
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 10 of 29 (1,066 Views)

Re: Converting an Existing DWG from meters to feet

07-04-2013 06:08 AM in reply to: JDMather

Ummm y'all do know AutoCAD has a converter built in to its calculator, right?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube