AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 1 of 8 (181 Views)

AutoCAD ARX and DLL files on Vault Server

181 Views, 7 Replies
10-01-2013 08:40 AM

My company is currently running AutoCAD 2012 and we have invested heavily in some custom DLL and ARX routines that really automate our design/engineering process.  The problem is that these currently resolve on laptop computers and our executive managment doesn't feel that it is very secure.

 

Their suggestion is to run AutoCAD through a virtual machine, which none of us like, for many reasons.

 

One option we would like to explore is using Autodesk Vault to store our DLL and ARX files, and require Vault login in order to load/run these files.

 

Is this something that can be done?

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 4,720
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 8 (173 Views)

Re: AutoCAD ARX and DLL files on Vault Server

10-01-2013 10:23 AM in reply to: joeswantek

ARX and DLL are code.  Vault is best for documents ie. drawings.

 

You *might* be able to load ARX from a common network location depending on how its built.  And you should be able to get the DLL to load from a common network location.  But for the most part, the Windows program paradigm is for the program components to reside on the computer running them.

 

You may want to elaborate on what makes your management unsecure about these files being local.  There could be other, more practical, options to explore.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 3 of 8 (172 Views)

Re: AutoCAD ARX and DLL files on Vault Server

10-01-2013 10:30 AM in reply to: joeswantek

Management doesn't like having these files local because they are proprietary and confidential.  All of our engineers are required to travel at some time or another, so they have to use laptop computers and we have had laptops stolen in the past. 

 

Is there any way that these files could not be stored locally and load on demand from a Vault server?

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 4,720
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 8 (164 Views)

Re: AutoCAD ARX and DLL files on Vault Server

10-01-2013 11:14 AM in reply to: joeswantek

Thats a bit of a paradox - Vault operates by creating a local copy until the file is checked back in.

 

Just so we are clear on what you want: when a laptop user is in the office and is plugged into your network, they have the appropriate tools loaded.  When they unplug and the laptop leaves your office, you don't want any of the support files on the laptop, which would mean they would be unavailable while the user is mobile.  Does that sound right?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 5 of 8 (162 Views)

Re: AutoCAD ARX and DLL files on Vault Server

10-01-2013 11:32 AM in reply to: dgorsman

Yes, that's exactly what I'm looking for.

 

I'm for Vault to act as a validation server, for lack of a better term.  But I want the DLL and ARX files on the Vault server.

 

Basically, I'm looking for anything that will give me a secure network solution without going to a virtual machine.  We've tried them, different versions, and none of them can deliver the performance we need.

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 4,720
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 8 (156 Views)

Re: AutoCAD ARX and DLL files on Vault Server

10-01-2013 11:46 AM in reply to: joeswantek

I'm still not convinced that Vault is a good solution for this... its really not designed to operate for that purpose.

 

I've got a much simpler solution which can be implemented by the most basic of IT people: log in scripts.  When the user logs in, the required files are downloaded automatically.  When they log out, the required files are erased.  A bit brute force, but easily tested.

 

I'd also go back to the creator of your custom files and see if they can be run from a common network location or be modified to work as such.  In that case you need to do nothing as long as the users don't mirror them with "Offline files" or the like.  If you are particularly paranoid they could be modified to use a variety of licensing schemes to read data from your own internal servers.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 7 of 8 (152 Views)

Re: AutoCAD ARX and DLL files on Vault Server

10-01-2013 12:30 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Yes, I thought that Vault wasn't the best solution, but I had to ask.

 

I like the log in script idea.  I'll ask around about that and see if someone can put something together.

 

Thanks for the input, I appreciate it.

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,833
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 8 of 8 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD ARX and DLL files on Vault Server

10-01-2013 05:39 PM in reply to: joeswantek

One other option, would be to code some form of validation check into the code files, so that they will only run if certain conditions are met.  that could be IP address, a passphrase, a loginname, a whitelisted mac address, etc etc etc.

 

 

 

If they won't run, then it really doesn't matter if they get copied.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube