Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to learn from an experiment

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
bob.bernstein
431 Views, 8 Replies

Looking to learn from an experiment

Hi all, I've always been a hobbyist user, and mostly worked on low poly models, I'm exploring the world of high poly modeling, and having a ton of fun.  Of course I'm dealing with things I've never done before.  Last night I tried an experiment.  I'm making a headlight lens, and I've been dissatisfied by the appearance of a bump map (gamma at 1.0) wired into the bump map channel of a physical material.  Otherwise default thick glass preset.

I took that same bump map and wired it into the emission channel.  In the viewport the entire lens blows out in massive appearance of light.   In the Art renderer, instead of seeing light, it just appears to enhance the contrast of the bumps.  Kind of what I was looking for.  

Max 2017, scene light is a daylight system.  Renderer is ART.  Material is physical with bump map.  Bump map was made in Photoshop by just painting the areas of desired bump to be white.  Attached are two images, one with just the bump channel, the other with both bump and emission changes getting the bump map.

I'd enjoy hearing from the pros why I see what I see, and hear alternatives to the emission channel for make the bump map easier to see in the renders.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Hello @bob.bernstein,