Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

the best way to fill in holes from scans?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
brit.b
8372 Views, 7 Replies

the best way to fill in holes from scans?

What is the best way to fill in holes from scans for complex (not flat) surfaces? Using the “cap holes” modifier fills it but it is a flat fill. And it only puts in a few triangles to work with. I am guessing the correct method would involve polygons and subdivisions? I am fairly new to polygon modelling, but there must be a way. Thanks in advance. (I was able to fill it in OK using Meshmixer as shown in the attached illustration…the statue to the left, but it did not keep the texture mapping.)

Tags (1)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
luxxeon
in reply to: brit.b

I can't tell from your sceenshot without seeing the wires, but I'm assuming, if it's a 3d scanned model, the topology is a delaunay triangulation?  It's not a quad surface, unfortunately.  Quad surfaces would be much easier to fix/repair than triangulation.  In this case, the easiest method to cap those holes is to use the cap holes modifier, to fill the holes with Ngons, as you've already done.  In the modifier, check "triangulate cap" and "smooth result with old faces".  This will result in a fast, but very messy topology.  Your object will be manifold, but may require additional manual editing to smooth it out.  One way to do that quickly is to then add an edit poly modifier, go to the Graphite Ribbon, and under the Freeform tab, select the relax/soften brush from the Paint Deform brush list.  Test the results of relaxing the capped areas to smooth them into the original geometry surface.  If you get an acceptable result, collapse the stack.