Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie question, joining line spline with arc spline?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Dystopiian
4818 Views, 4 Replies

Newbie question, joining line spline with arc spline?

Hello! I'm hoping someone could help me.

I'm a Uni student learning 3ds max for games development and we're doing a floor plan assignment, I am able to create simple box shapes with the spline tool and extrude walls from that, however, I'm creating a somewhat unique floor plan which involves an arc (that I'm planning to be used as windows) and when drawing out my plan I do not get the dialog window "Close this spline?" I've tried connecting all the verts manually (don't understand how to weld yet) and still no luck.
I was able to attach the inner and outer splines together and extrude walls from them but the walls are not solid/filled. They appear to have space between each other. I think this is what's stopping me from being able to use the Boolean tool to create windows and doorways. 

I will attach a screenshot of what I'm working on, if you need better screenshots to see whats going on I can happily upload more.

2018.04.25-23.33.pngIn short: Able to attach, extrude splines but without closing the spline because I used an arc spline. Walls are 'hollow' as it were. 

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
KarlAkimor
in reply to: Dystopiian

There are several aspects to weld verts:

You only can weld a vert to two segments, anything else use simply fuse.

If you are doing splines they need to be attached in order to weld them

image.png

You can avoid creating new lines deactivating "start new shape"

image.png

You can activate the snap to verts to join different lines

image.png