Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student > Commercial Pricing for 2013 increases by... £4000

22 REPLIES 22
Message 1 of 23
TeeJayEllis
275 Views, 22 Replies

Student > Commercial Pricing for 2013 increases by... £4000

I'm a student just graduating from an Architecture degree and have been using Max Student edition for the past few years. Just before 2013 was announced I called my reseller to talk about upgrading my license to a commercial seat and I was told that I could upgrade for around £600.

Obviously this was a fantastic price and a great way for students to 'get started' in the commercial world. However, with 2013 round the corner, I figured I would wait a couple weeks.

So, I called up on Friday to make my purchase, only to be told that students are no longer able to upgrade a student license to just Max or Maya, only to the commercial 'Suite', the cheapest of which is £4050 + VAT.

The problem is that not only is this an incredibly brutal move for students who are most likely not in a position to find that kind of money, but there seems to be a lot of confusion over whether this is really the case.

On top of this, I have no need for 80% of what is included in the suite. I only want Max and yet I'm now expected to pay for for MudBox, Softimage, Maya, MotionBuilder and Sketchbook? I mean, who would even need ALL of them? Some modeller, animator, FX artist, product designer superstar? Even in the Building Suites I would only need Max and ACAD, yet I appear to have no choice but to pay huge money for a collection of apps I won't use.

The resellers are saying that is how it is, and Autodesk won't talk to consumers about pricing since they only deal with resellers. The thing is, someone pointed out this to me: