Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodeskโ€™s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results forย 
Showย ย onlyย  | Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Garage door animation

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
ugdu06
1385 Views, 7 Replies

Garage door animation

Hi there,

This is my first post on this forum, and I must say that I've been through all the possible tutorials this week-end without any success.

Basically I'm a "confirmed" user of 3ds max when talking about modelling, but concerning animations, I'm a real newbie ๐Ÿ™‚

The thing I'm trying to achieve today is to automate a roller garage door opening, made of several panels. I've found my way using the spline IK solver, expected that the upper part of the upper panel of the door should follow an other path, and that's when things start being complicated.

G1.png

So far the garage door follows pretty well the yellow spline, that's a good thing.G2.pngG3.png

So, basically I've tried to create a point helper at the top of the 4th panel, then, created a new point helper at the top of the fifth panel, linked it to this panel, and linked the panel to the first point helper, hoping that everything would follow gently the 2 curves, but nothing to do, and moreover it became a real mess ๐Ÿ˜„

G4.pngG5.png

I join you the scene I'm working on at the moment, hoping that someone more skilled that I am will be able to guide me through the dark.

All the best to all of you ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
aslantamjidi
in reply to: ugdu06

Check this Video of a cool and  free Script. could solve your Problem.

Message 3 of 8
leeminardi

This is a tough problem!  YOu essentially want one end of an object to follow one path and the other end to follow a different path AND you want to maintain a constant distance between the points on the different paths.  I don't think the tank tread video posted by @aslantamjidi solves this problem.