Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student Licence Distribution?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
ManBearPigNZL
493 Views, 5 Replies

Student Licence Distribution?

Hi there i'm new to the autodesk community and I have a question that I cannot find the answer to.

So i'm thinking of making a video game through Cryengine 3 sdk (Nothing too serious just getting experince and having fun) and i'm a student at a high school so i'm going to download 3ds max and mudbox to help me make the game through a student licence. So I was wondering if I manage to finish the game can I distribute it for free to the public to download and play? I know I can't distribute the game commerically but I want to make a name for myself or something like that. 

Last of all if I can distribute the game for non commerical use, can I ask for donations or is that classes as making profit off the game.

Thanks for answering in advance, Sorry if this is bad question or something I just really want to know 😄 

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

No. Student versions are for learning. Nothing more. In order to distribute your work, either directly (as a model), in a game or in any other way you require a commercial license. You may use the (rendered) result in your portfolio but that's about it. You may not, under any circumstances, benefit financially from work done in a Student version.

Max 2016 (SP1/EXT1)
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 430.86).

Message 3 of 6
DarrenP
in reply to: Steve_Curley

look at renting a license of 3ds max: http://www.autodesk.com/store/3ds-max

DarrenP
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 4 of 6