<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#" xmlns:taxo="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/taxonomy/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>topic AutoCAD Electrical Project Collaboration in AutoCAD Electrical Forum</title>
    <link>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13965320#M49773</link>
    <description>&lt;P&gt;Overview:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;I'd like to know what the intended workflow is for collaboration with AutoCAD Electrical users on the same project.&amp;nbsp; Is there any intended method for collaboration?&amp;nbsp; I would prefer to use the same project for all users on that project so that all the project settings and descriptions are the same.&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Our setup:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;The project file and DWGs are located on a network drive.&amp;nbsp; We all add the same project file to ACADE project manager and activate it.&amp;nbsp; The problem is, I believe, when you activate a project, it copies the project database to your local drive for updates.&amp;nbsp; Then, when you're done, it overwrites the project database on the network drive with a local copy that was updated during your session.&amp;nbsp; So if another person starts their session before I've ended my session and ends their session after mine, then any updates I made to the project database during my session are lost when they end their session and overwrite the file on the network.&amp;nbsp; I haven't noticed a huge impact on the drawing data since the drawing updates aren't overwritten, and if I just rebuild the database, then it pulls everything from the drawings.&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Example:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;The most obvious example is when I add a new drawing to the project.&amp;nbsp; If someone else closes their ACADE after me, then that drawing is no longer in the project when I open it back up.&amp;nbsp; Or any project settings or description changes are also lost.&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Our Next Steps:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;We're currently looking into using Vault, but I'm not sure if that will solve this issue.&amp;nbsp; Or maybe AutoDesk Docs/Construction Cloud?&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Post Questions Summary:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Does Vault solve this?&amp;nbsp; Does AutoDesk Docs/Construction Cloud solve this?&amp;nbsp; What is the intended workflow for collaboration on projects?&amp;nbsp; What are your recommended ways to collaborate using AutoCAD Electrical if there is no intended collaboration method?&lt;/P&gt;</description>
    <pubDate>Mon, 05 Jan 2026 20:03:15 GMT</pubDate>
    <dc:creator>daniel.welchLFHPQ</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2026-01-05T20:03:15Z</dc:date>
    <item>
      <title>AutoCAD Electrical Project Collaboration</title>
      <link>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13965320#M49773</link>
      <description>&lt;P&gt;Overview:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;I'd like to know what the intended workflow is for collaboration with AutoCAD Electrical users on the same project.&amp;nbsp; Is there any intended method for collaboration?&amp;nbsp; I would prefer to use the same project for all users on that project so that all the project settings and descriptions are the same.&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Our setup:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;The project file and DWGs are located on a network drive.&amp;nbsp; We all add the same project file to ACADE project manager and activate it.&amp;nbsp; The problem is, I believe, when you activate a project, it copies the project database to your local drive for updates.&amp;nbsp; Then, when you're done, it overwrites the project database on the network drive with a local copy that was updated during your session.&amp;nbsp; So if another person starts their session before I've ended my session and ends their session after mine, then any updates I made to the project database during my session are lost when they end their session and overwrite the file on the network.&amp;nbsp; I haven't noticed a huge impact on the drawing data since the drawing updates aren't overwritten, and if I just rebuild the database, then it pulls everything from the drawings.&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Example:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;The most obvious example is when I add a new drawing to the project.&amp;nbsp; If someone else closes their ACADE after me, then that drawing is no longer in the project when I open it back up.&amp;nbsp; Or any project settings or description changes are also lost.&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Our Next Steps:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;We're currently looking into using Vault, but I'm not sure if that will solve this issue.&amp;nbsp; Or maybe AutoDesk Docs/Construction Cloud?&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Post Questions Summary:&lt;/P&gt;&lt;P&gt;Does Vault solve this?&amp;nbsp; Does AutoDesk Docs/Construction Cloud solve this?&amp;nbsp; What is the intended workflow for collaboration on projects?&amp;nbsp; What are your recommended ways to collaborate using AutoCAD Electrical if there is no intended collaboration method?&lt;/P&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 05 Jan 2026 20:03:15 GMT</pubDate>
      <guid>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13965320#M49773</guid>
      <dc:creator>daniel.welchLFHPQ</dc:creator>
      <dc:date>2026-01-05T20:03:15Z</dc:date>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Re: AutoCAD Electrical Project Collaboration</title>
      <link>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13965610#M49777</link>
      <description>&lt;P&gt;Hi&amp;nbsp;&lt;a href="https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/12816283"&gt;@daniel.welchLFHPQ&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;
&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;
&lt;P&gt;Yes, this would be the typical problem of having more than one user working on the same project. Its the common&amp;nbsp;"Last One Out Wins" problem.&lt;/P&gt;
&lt;P&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/P&gt;
&lt;P&gt;You should look into vault, It uses the&amp;nbsp;"check-in/check-out" system which I&amp;nbsp;believe allows users to work on the same project simultaneously, but they must work on different drawings within that project.&lt;/P&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 06 Jan 2026 01:56:02 GMT</pubDate>
      <guid>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13965610#M49777</guid>
      <dc:creator>arshdeepsingh404</dc:creator>
      <dc:date>2026-01-06T01:56:02Z</dc:date>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Re: AutoCAD Electrical Project Collaboration</title>
      <link>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13967673#M49783</link>
      <description>&lt;P&gt;You say that your DWG's are on a network drive... A Windows Server? OneDrive?&lt;/P&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 07 Jan 2026 12:34:52 GMT</pubDate>
      <guid>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13967673#M49783</guid>
      <dc:creator>rhesusminus</dc:creator>
      <dc:date>2026-01-07T12:34:52Z</dc:date>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Re: AutoCAD Electrical Project Collaboration</title>
      <link>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13967895#M49792</link>
      <description>&lt;P&gt;Not OneDrive, I believe it's a Windows Server.&lt;/P&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 07 Jan 2026 14:29:47 GMT</pubDate>
      <guid>https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-forum/autocad-electrical-project-collaboration/m-p/13967895#M49792</guid>
      <dc:creator>daniel.welchLFHPQ</dc:creator>
      <dc:date>2026-01-07T14:29:47Z</dc:date>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>

