Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Laying out UV's but my grid texture stays messy.

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
1438 Views, 9 Replies

Laying out UV's but my grid texture stays messy.

I'm attempting to lay out the UV's on a wagon model.

It's a purchased asset that I've remodelled. I deleted all of the textures it came with from Hypershade. This is my first time using a pre-made model and I'm wondering if I missed something.

As you can see in the picture below, the grid is still really warped and messy despite laying out some of the roof's UVs.

How do I fix this? Any help would be greatly appreciated. 🙂

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
damaggio
in reply to: Anonymous

Try a new automatic projection from the create uvs menu option .. Also keep the projection on the right side of the uv editor , the darker grey square , that's because if you later need to export a snapshot to photoshop for painting it should be on the right side .
Let us know if it works.
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: damaggio

I'll give that a try. I do eventually move the UVs over to sit just in the top right square. I just like to spread out as I map them. It's never been a problem with laying out a grid texture in the past.
Message 4 of 10
Anonymous

I tried doing a new automatic projection, it's still the same problem unfortunately. Moving the UV shells around in the UV Editor has no effect on the layout of the texture. And I still can't see the grid texture in the UV Editor.

The original asset I bought had it's own textures and mental ray applied. It came as an FBX file which I imported into Maya. I deleted all of the texture shaders in the Hypershader. Is there some other texture, or mental ray connections I need to break before I can apply my own textures?