Wiretap

Reply
Active Contributor
derrick
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 1 of 3 (158 Views)

Remotely writing frames

158 Views, 2 Replies
01-30-2007 10:58 PM
Some of our developers work remotely; the WireTap server is on a local net with a link-local IP and we've set up the router to do NAT port forwarding. We've also set the wiretap.cfg file to have both the local IP address and the world visible IP.

This works for browsing and reading frames, but not for writing frames. When a remote client tries to write frames, it seems that WireTap is trying to use the link-local IP.

Is there a way to get writing to work too?

This is with WireTap 2007.
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 2 of 3 (158 Views)

Re: Remotely writing frames

01-31-2007 05:04 AM in reply to: derrick
Sounds peculiar. In v2007 (client and server), when a connection is established to a server, a negociation is made regarding the IP address to use for media IO. All media IO (read and write) shares the same network path under the hood.

I can't think of a situation why this would not work ... unless you are writing to a pre-2007 server.
Active Contributor
derrick
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 3 of 3 (158 Views)

Re: Remotely writing frames

01-31-2007 11:55 PM in reply to: derrick
Well, that's strange. It appears to have been some sort of server configuration problem, but who knows what... we had to reinstall the server entirely and once we did, it started working fine.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!