Wiretap

Reply
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 1 of 7 (295 Views)

project locking

295 Views, 6 Replies
06-04-2008 09:02 AM
I have gotten this from a customer, we don't see anything on our side that would be creating this behavior. any thoughts?

"we are unable to transfer files into a job unless the operator is either in that project (but not the folder) or if they are out of the flame completely. If they happen to be in the Flame in another project then we are unable to transfer the file. "
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 2 of 7 (295 Views)

Re: project locking

06-04-2008 05:58 PM in reply to: alatteri
Which version are they on? Have the customer call support. This is not normal. Sounds like some sort of leftover lock file.

You can confirm it's not your product by running the wiretap tools to simulate what you're doing (e.g. wiretap_client_tool). BTW, all Wiretap-enabled products out there should some of the Wiretap SDK tools as they wish in order to help troubleshoot from the remote system. The Wiretap SDK is not provided with the creative software.

Dan
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 3 of 7 (295 Views)

Re: project locking

06-04-2008 06:01 PM in reply to: alatteri
to further be-fuddle things... there is there additional error.

"Error creating new clip node: The project Vitamin_Water_Cosmonauts_J5427NY is not write-compatible with IFFFS Wiretap Server version 2008.0.SP3"

They are on "flame with the 2008 version packet 3"
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 4 of 7 (295 Views)

Re: project locking

06-04-2008 06:05 PM in reply to: alatteri
There's your problem. Just like Wire, the Wiretap server cannot overwrite old projects and clip libraries. Have them create a new library (matching the version of the WT server)into which the Wiretap server can write.

This error should make it up to the UI of your app to allow the user to understand their problem, right? :smileyhappy:
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 5 of 7 (295 Views)

Re: project locking

06-04-2008 06:07 PM in reply to: alatteri
sorry, i should have added this:

we created a new project/job in flame with the 2008 version packet 3 upgrade. again, it would not let us drop a file in unless the operator was in that project
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 6 of 7 (295 Views)

Re: project locking

06-04-2008 06:09 PM in reply to: alatteri
Seems pretty wierd to me. I'd have them call support. Does remote access from another system work?
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 7 of 7 (295 Views)

Re: project locking

06-04-2008 06:13 PM in reply to: alatteri
Flame to Flame? I don't know... I have suggested they open a case with Autodesk, with stress it again.

Thanks,
Alan
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.