Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Selecting a single block using SSGET

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
jamesloy22
1143 Views, 8 Replies

Selecting a single block using SSGET

I am fairly new to LISP writing and I had a basic question. If I have a drawing with multiple blocks of the same name, let's say all my blocks are the "CAR" block that are completely identical, I need a way to find the entity names of each individual block in the DWG. Once I have this information, I need to build a selection set so where I can select only one of the blocks to manipulate using that entity name as criteria. Is this possible?

Thanks.

Tags (1)
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Moshe-A
in reply to: jamesloy22

James Hi,

try this:-

(defun C:GrabCars (/ ss i ename elist ;| declare local variables|; )

(if (setq ss (ssget "x" (list '(0 . "CAR")))) ; select all CAR inserts automaticlly
  (progn
   (setq i -1) ; set an index

(repeat (sslength ss)	; loops through entitys
    (setq i (1+ i)		; inc index
	  ename (ssname ss i)  	; get entity ename
	  elist (entget ename) 	; get entity database
    )

(setq elist (subst (cons '8 "0") (assoc '8 elist) elist)) ; change entity to layer 0
    (entmod elist); update database

); repeat

); progn
 ); if

(princ) ; quiet exit
); C:GrabCars

cheers

moshe

Message 3 of 9
jamesloy22
in reply to: Moshe-A

I just ran the lisp and I can't tell if it is doing anything... is your first selection set correct or do you need to select (0 . "Insert")?

Message 4 of 9
Moshe-A

yes you are right (my mistake)

it should be:

(setq ss (ssget "x" (list '(0 . "insert") '(2 . "car"))))

Message 5 of 9
jamesloy22

That fixed the lisp but it is just changing the layer back to 0 for all my blocks... I need a way to display what their entity name or entity handle is and then use that information in a seperate selection set. Any ideas?

James

Message 6 of 9
Moshe-A

James,