Did you mean: 

Return Text Value

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
Anonymous
1837 Views, 13 Replies

Return Text Value

Im new to lisp and I've reached a point that I just can't seem to get past.  Im trying to select text from a specific point on the drawing and set the value of that text as a variable to return later.  Im stuck at selecting the text and saving the value.  I've tried the vla-get-textstring method shown in acadauto.chm file but it shows how to create a text and then return it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.  

(setq p1 (list 30.4248 2.2476)); top point of selection box for detailer name in title block
(setq p2 (list 31.5532 2.4448)); bot point of selection box for detailer name in title block

(setq p3 (list 25.2794 1.3583)); mid point of detailer name in rev box

(setq detname (???? p1 p2))

(command "text" "S" "STANDARD" "J" "M" p3 0.1 0 detname)

Thanks,

Jeremy

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
hmsilva
in reply to: Anonymous

Something like this perhaps.

(setq p1 (list 30.4248 2.2476)); top point of selection box for detailer name in title block
(setq p2 (list 31.5532 2.4448)); bot point of selection box for detailer name in title block
(setq p3 (list 25.2794 1.3583)); mid point of detailer name in rev box
(if (setq txt (ssget "C" p1 p2 '((0 . "TEXT"))));; creates a selectionb set using a crossing selection, see if a 
  (progn
(setq detname (cdr (assoc 1 (entget (ssname txt 0)))));; gets the text string
(command "text" "S" "STANDARD" "J" "M" p3 0.1 0 detname)
);; progn
  );; if

HTH

Henrique

EESignature

Message 3 of 14
ezcad.co.uk

Jeremy, something you may want to think about...

I gather from your post that you are trying to read text from a specific location on a drawing border & recreate it at another location?