Did you mean: 

Measuring Area Using Override Dimensions, Was Told To Try Here

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
esallen
598 Views, 5 Replies

Measuring Area Using Override Dimensions, Was Told To Try Here

Hi All,

I'm very new to AutoCAD, I was hired to complete a space project this summer which required basic AutoCAD knowledge. I am responsible for populating a database in which one of the fields is the area of individual rooms in a building. The instructions indicated that I was to use polylines to enclose each room / area and to find the area based on these values.

Earlier this year, another student was hired to confirm the measurements on building blueprints. This student took accurate measurements of each room, however instead of correcting the drawings, he simply added override text to the dimensions. Therefore the displayed dimensions are correct but my area values using polylines are inaccurate.

The project that I'm working on includes a number of drawings and close to 1000 rooms. I downloaded a function I found online that allows me to figure out which dimensions were overridden by boxing them in a different colour and I've found that it is a significant ammount.

Is there a way to use these overridden dimensions, without altering the physical nature of the drawing, to find the area of a room?

Any advice is greatly appreciated, otherwise I'll be forced to do each calculation by hand haha.

Thanks in advance

Too Long, Didn't Read:

Need to use polylines to calculate area of many rooms. Dimensions have been overridden and are inaccurate. Can i use the overridden dimensions without altering the physical drawing?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Kent1Cooper
in reply to: esallen

@esallen wrote:

Need to use polylines to calculate area of many rooms. Dimensions have been overridden and are inaccurate. Can i use the overridden dimensions without altering the physical drawing?