Did you mean: 

Lisp problem

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
jkg
Contributor
309 Views, 13 Replies

Lisp problem

I'm trying to get a lisp routine to work. It is fine on the 64bit Vista machine but I receive the following error when I try to run it on the 32bit XP machine. error: no function definition: VLAX-ENAME->VLA-OBJECT I did not create the lisp routine and I am not a programmer but I find it strange that it works in one case and not the other - all other factors being the same as far as I can tell. Any help will be appreciated
13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
in reply to: jkg

it may be that one the function is not loaded.
try typing ( vl-load-com ) at the command line on the machine that does not work
or try typing vlide and then closing it.
Message 3 of 14
jkg
Contributor

WOW - you're a genius! I tried them both with no success the first time but then I tried vlide again and opened the file in question. I closed without saving and it just worked! I don't know exactly what this means though. Will I have to do this each time and on each computer that I have this problem? Edited by: jkg@sdgarch.com on Jun 18, 2009 11:09 PM
Message 4 of 14
Anonymous

well Every time I load Autocad I have a file that has ( vl-load-com ) in it ....not in any lisp functions but just in the file.
And i dont need to use vlide editor.

So hopefully if you just add ( vl-load-com ) into the lisp file that runs the program your using. or into your acad####.lsp file under your support folder "####" being your autocad version.
then you should be good.

Give it a try on one machine and test it and we can go from there.
Message 5 of 14
jkg
Contributor

Thanks so much for your help. I ran into a snag. I tested it again and it didn't work this time. I don't know what's going on but I appreciate the help you've provided!
Message 6 of 14
Anonymous

Is it the exact same problem that you were beginning with?

And how are you running this program?
Message 7 of 14
jkg
Contributor