Did you mean: 

Land Desktop Error 429 on Windows 7

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
Neilw_05
2377 Views, 7 Replies

Land Desktop Error 429 on Windows 7

From what I have found online it appears this is a programming or VBA issue. I am not a programmer so I am posting here with hope that someone will know what to do.

I got a new PC with Windows 7 64bit OS. I installed Civil Series 2004 (Land Desktop 2004) and am able to run it in XP Mode. However, when I use the Import LandXML routine it fails with the message "Run Time Error '429'. ActiveX component can't create object". From what I've found it seems I need to register a DLL to get past this but I don't know which one.

Can anyone offer a solution? This may occur with other apps once I start using them more fully so it would be helpful to know how to determine which dll's/components need to be registered.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
AEC Collection/C3D 2024, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 10 64 PRO

http://www.sec-landmgt.com
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Jeff_M
in reply to: Neilw_05

What are you trying to import, Neil? I have LDT3 running in XP Mode (don't have the 2004 version) and have been able to import LandXML files without a problem. This makes me think it may be the object types contained in the LandXML file.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
EESignature
Message 3 of 8
Neilw_05
in reply to: Jeff_M

Hi Jeff,

The XML file contains a LDT surface. I can import it fine using Civil series 2004 on my XP machine but I get the error when importing it on my Win 7 64 bit machine in XP mode.

Do you know if I have to use XP Mode when installing it on Win 7? I didn't.

WIN 10 64 PRO

Message 4 of 8
Jeff_M