How to call a function in Autocad and return a value by reference

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
1105 Views, 5 Replies

How to call a function in Autocad and return a value by reference

Hello,

I have been programming in Autolisp for many years. I am used to writing functions that don't need to return a value to the calling routine.

Now, my programming assignment requires that I write a function that does return a value to the calling routine, (and that was modified inside

of the function).

My first programming attempt does not work. It fails to return the true value of the modified variable. I tried looking this up on the internet, and had absolutely no luck, because the Autolisp documentation that is available on the internet has it's own peculiar style of communicating how it works, and I am used to the conventions associated with C# programming, which are based on the theory of Object Oriented Programming.

So, I am uploading my "test development program" here and letting you, (whoever you may be), to try to modify it so that it does successfully return

the modified value from the function.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
marko_ribar
in reply to: Anonymous

From what I saw in your posted code, it looks that you just want to obtain point by clicking with mouse left button... The simple way of doing this is just using (getpoint) function... If you're looking to pass point data list to other defined function and get back modified data list, I just don't see where are you specyfing argument inside function you are calling from main function that is to be modified and returned back as modifed value... To explain what I mean, I'll try to ilustrate what your 2 defined function should look like in following example...

(defun modifoo ( pt / gr modpt )

(setq gr (grread))

(setq modpt (mapcar '+ pt (cadr gr)))

modpt

)

(defun c:mainfoo ( / pt modpt )

(setq pt '(0.0 0.0 0.0))

(setq modpt (modifoo pt))