Did you mean: 

Help with LISP to sort CANNOSCALE list

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
3dwannab
2954 Views, 12 Replies

Help with LISP to sort CANNOSCALE list

I need help to sort the list of a CANNOSCALE LISP i created from searching the internet on how to do so. It creates and sorts them fine if no CANNOSCALES are not in use. Trouble is if 1:50 and 1:100 scales exist then it sorts them like:

"1:50"
"1:100"

"1:1"
"1:2"
"1:5"
"1:10"
"1:20"
"1:250"
"1:500"
"1:1000"
"1:2500"

I need:

"1:1"
"1:2"
"1:5"
"1:10"
"1:20"

"1:50"
"1:100"
"1:250"
"1:500"
"1:1000"
"1:2500"

Thanks. PS I'm a LISPING noob.

Tags (2)
12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
_Tharwat
in reply to: 3dwannab

Check this out ..

(setq l '("1:50" "1:100" "1:1" "1:2" "1:5" "1:10" "1:20" "1:250" "1:500"  "1:1000" "1:2500"  ))

(vl-sort l '(lambda (j k) (< (read (substr j 3)) (read (substr k 3)))))

Message 3 of 13
3dwannab
in reply to: _Tharwat

CANNOSCALE list.jpg

Thanks for your help but I can't get it to work. See image. The list doesn't appear alphabetically if 1:250 scale is in use. See attached .lsp file. Maybe I'm putting the code in the wrong place?

Message 4 of 13
3dwannab
in reply to: _Tharwat

Hi Tharwat,

I managed to get it to work but with what seems like an easier method to understand. Especially for a begineer like me.

With the code:

(Command: (dos_strsort x -1)
("1:1" "1:2" "1:5" "1:10" "1:20" "1:50" "1:100" "1:250" "1:500" "1:2500")

See link. Pretty usefull stuff 🙂

Attached its the final script. It's coming back with errors saying "; error: no function definition: DOS_STRSORT"

It would be nice to get that message rid of. But all in all the script works fine. Thanks again for your help.

Message 5 of 13
Kent1Cooper

@3dwannab wrote:

With the code:

(Command: (dos_strsort x -1)
("1:1" "1:2" "1:5" "1:10" "1:20" "1:50" "1:100" "1:250" "1:500" "1:2500")

See link. Pretty usefull stuff 🙂