Creating a function to pull random color of ball in lisp

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
FrescoVivir
1768 Views, 9 Replies

Creating a function to pull random color of ball in lisp

Hello everyone,

So I just started learning lisp and I really don't have a lot of resources to do so. I have this problem that I'm trying to solve: the idea of the program is having a box with balls someone will pull a ball randomly each ball has a color the program will show the color of the ball until the box is empty it will show NIL:

I started working on it but due to the lack on knowledge I'm stuck in the begging this is what I wrote so far

(defun get-ball (list) 

(random (list)))    // I'm not sure if this is right or wrong I think this should return random color but it won't take the color off the list

(defvar *color-of-ball*

'("Red" "Blue" "Green" "Indigo" "white"))  // also not sure if this is the right way to define list of strings to be used later with another function or not

so when this app run it should be something like this: 

[1]> (get-ball *color-of-ball*) BLUE

[1]> (get-ball *color-of-ball*) Red

[1]> (get-ball *color-of-ball*) Indigo

[1]> (get-ball *color-of-ball*) White

[1]> (get-ball *color-of-ball*) Green

[1]> (get-ball *color-of-ball*) NIL  //since the box is empty now 

I'll bd thankful for any help regard solving this. 

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Kent1Cooper
in reply to: FrescoVivir

It would be better not to use "list" as the name of your list, since that is an AutoLISP function name.

Post the definition of your (random) function.  I suspect that in using it, the name of the variable containing the list should not be in parentheses.

Making the list looks right except for the function name, which should be (setq) rather than (defvar) [unless, perhaps, you have a defined (defvar) function that does something different from what (setq) does -- post it if you do].

Kent Cooper, AIA
Message 3 of 10
FrescoVivir
in reply to: Kent1Cooper