Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sanganaksakha
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎09-30-2003
Message 1 of 5 (76 Views)

Command line version in AutoLISP

76 Views, 4 Replies
12-06-2006 07:50 AM
What am I missing?

The xref command has dialog box. When you want to use it AutoLISP one needed to use the command line version (command “-xref”). On command line it works the same old way.

In one of the recent examples I saw (command “xref”) work without the dialog box.

Is ‘–‘ now unnecessary? Or is there some sysvar? When did this change occur? Now when I want to display the dialog box in AutoLISP what do I use?

- Sanjay Kulkarni
Valued Contributor
ElpanovEvgeniy
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎06-05-2006
Message 2 of 5 (76 Views)

Re: Command line version in AutoLISP

12-06-2006 07:54 AM in reply to: sanganaksakha
(alert (ver))
*Kent Cooper
Message 3 of 5 (76 Views)

Re: Command line version in AutoLISP

12-06-2006 08:10 AM in reply to: sanganaksakha
If you use a command that has a dialog box, in a Script or Macro, or type it
in at the keyboard, and you want the command-line version without the dialog
box, you do (and still) need to precede it with a hyphen.

If you use a dialog-box command inside a (command) function in AutoLisp, you
do NOT need to use the hyphen to avoid the dialog box -- it will use the
command-line version. It works sort of in reverse -- if you DO want the
dialog box, you need to force it to use that, by immediately preceding the
(command) function with (initdia), which I assume stands for something like
"initialize dialog box".

I don't know whether this is a change, or has always been this way.

--
Kent Cooper


wrote...
What am I missing?

The xref command has dialog box. When you want to use it AutoLISP one needed
to use the command line version (command "-xref"). On command line it works
the same old way.

In one of the recent examples I saw (command "xref") work without the dialog
box.

Is '-' now unnecessary? Or is there some sysvar? When did this change occur?
Now when I want to display the dialog box in AutoLISP what do I use?

- Sanjay Kulkarni
*Kent Cooper
Message 4 of 5 (76 Views)

Re: Command line version in AutoLISP

12-06-2006 08:12 AM in reply to: sanganaksakha
I should add that there's no "harm" in having the hyphen before the command
name inside a (command) function. It just isn't necessary.
--
Kent Cooper
Distinguished Contributor
sanganaksakha
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎09-30-2003
Message 5 of 5 (76 Views)

Re: Command line version in AutoLISP

12-09-2006 01:21 AM in reply to: sanganaksakha
Thanks all for replys. May be, it has been this way right through.

--- Sanjay Kulkarni
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.