Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

combined ddedit & paste

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
canuck7783
446 Views, 10 Replies

combined ddedit & paste

Trying to make a simple lisp program but I am really new to this.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  My goal is to type EE on my keyboard in autocad (version 2014) and it combines the ddedit command and paste command all in one.  Thank you if anyone can help me.

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
bhull1985
in reply to: canuck7783

That is somewhat difficult to understand your intentions there..

Are you wanting to PASTE(clip) a block into the dwg and then immediately ddedit the same object?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Please use code tags and credit where credit is due. Accept as solution, if solved. Let's keep it trim people!
Message 3 of 11
canuck7783
in reply to: bhull1985

Right now I have to go into hundreds of drawings and change a job number.  So I'm doing that by using DDEDIT and then hitting ctrl+v.  When doing this so many times, i was wondering if i can just combine the two commands.  So when I use a new quick key command like "EE" and click on the text i want to change it will automatically DDEDIT and then paste what i currently have on my clipboard.

This is what i have so far.  It's not much

; ---------------------------EDIT PASTE--------------------------
;       EDIT A TEXT AND PASTE WHATEVER'S IN CLIPBOARD
; ----------------------------------------------------------------
(Defun C:EE ()
(command "DDEDIT")
)

Message 4 of 11
bhull1985

So you're just modifying the attribute value of a block?

That'd be accomplished in another method than ddedit+pasteclip, what you can do instead is get the dxf group codes for the attributed block, find the correct att tag, modify it!

Can you upload a title block empty save for the attribute you're modifying?

This would allow me to show you how to do that..