Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Thomas.l
Posts: 109
Registered: ‎04-16-2011
Message 1 of 3 (156 Views)

Automaticaly installing tool pallets and lisp routines

156 Views, 2 Replies
09-18-2012 12:18 AM

Hi All,

 

We are working together whit another firm and we would like to share our tool pallets and lisp routines. The pallets and lisp files we would like to share are quite large so we would like to simply send them a USB stick whit all the files and a litle "executable" program that automaticaly puts them on the right place and changes the apropriat information.

 

Is this possible and how can this best be done?

 

Regrads

 

Thomas

Valued Mentor
martti.halminen
Posts: 349
Registered: ‎12-31-2009
Message 2 of 3 (148 Views)

Re: Automaticaly installing tool pallets and lisp routines

09-18-2012 12:46 AM in reply to: Thomas.l

 

Technically that is pretty trivial to do, but make sure you discuss all the details with the person doing the CAD system maintenance there. I sure wouldn't accept any outsider doing uncontrolled changes in our system.

- Actually better just send the raw data and documentation about where you think it should be installed, and let the receivers do the installation, so that they can ensure it doesn't clobber their own stuff.

 

--

Distinguished Contributor
Thomas.l
Posts: 109
Registered: ‎04-16-2011
Message 3 of 3 (143 Views)

Re: Automaticaly installing tool pallets and lisp routines

09-18-2012 01:02 AM in reply to: martti.halminen

That would be apropriat if the firm we are working whit uses autocad. But they are planning on buying and installing autocad just for working whit our tools. This means they don't have any knowladge of Autodesk itself or how to work whit it. Let stand having a person for CAD maintainance. Therefor we were looking for this alternative.

 

 

The biggest problem we are struggeling whit is installing the tool pallet automaticaly. Is it sposible to simply place it in a folder so it is loaded automaticaly? (like putting lisps in the ApplicationPlugins folder)

 

Regards

 

Thomas

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.