VBA
Discuss AutoCAD ActiveX and VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) questions here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error using VBA in Excel to open Civil 3D 2011 with a borrowed license

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Private2at
787 Views, 3 Replies

Error using VBA in Excel to open Civil 3D 2011 with a borrowed license

I have been searching for a solution to this problem for a couple of days and coming up empty so far.  I have a bit of VBA code in in excel that works just fine in the office, but fails and returns errors when I am working with a borrowed license.  I am not a programmer and this is my first foray into VBA.  I have picked up most by hunting around the net and reading other code I have found.  If someone knows a way to make this work with a borrowed license as well as a non borrowed license that would be much appreciated. 

My goal with this portion of the Code is simply to open a standard drawing from a specified location, or use the existing standard drawing if it is already open.

the snippet of the code that I am using and works in the office is as follows:

Sub Export_to_AutoCAD()
     Dim Acad As AcadApplication

On Error Resume Next
     Set Acad = GetObject(, "AutoCAD.Application")
     On Error GoTo 0
     If Acad Is Nothing Then
         Set Acad = New AcadApplication
     End If

Acad.Visible = True

'Open specific Standard Drawing in order to fill in table with data from this spreadsheet
     Dim NewFile As AcadDocument
     Dim DwgFilePath As String
     Dim DwgName As String
     Dim DwgLocation As String
     Dim DwgReadOnly As Boolean

Worksheets("Setup").Activate
     DwgFilePath = Range("B2")
     DwgName = Range("B4")
     DwgLocation = DwgFilePath & "\" & DwgName
     DwgReadOnly = True

On Error Resume Next
     Set NewFile = Acad.Documents.Open(DwgLocation, DwgReadOnly)
     On Error GoTo 0
     If NewFile Is Nothing Then
Errormessage:
        If NewFile = "False" Then End