Visual Basic Customization

Visual Basic Customization

Reply
Contributor
Pretty
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎10-15-2006
Message 1 of 9 (123 Views)

create break in a long pipe

123 Views, 8 Replies
11-02-2006 11:08 AM
I am new to VBA. I am trying to draw a very long pipe. Even after scaling properly, the pipe does not fit in the paperspace.

I want to put a break in the pipe. But the dimensioning has to show the actual length of the pipe and not the broken length.

How to draw the break symbol using VBA? How to do the dimensioning after you insert a break.

I hope the question is clear. Please help.

Thanks in advance,
Pretty
Distinguished Contributor
Fatty
Posts: 1,986
Registered: ‎08-02-2004
Message 2 of 9 (123 Views)

Re: create break in a long pipe

11-03-2006 06:19 AM in reply to: Pretty
Hi, Pretty
Not sure about this will be draw correctly
to your standars
Read comments inside the code
Change to your suit
Let me know if something wrong there
HTH

Fatty

~'J'~
*Expert Elite*
arcticad
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 3 of 9 (123 Views)

Re: create break in a long pipe

11-03-2006 07:35 AM in reply to: Pretty
I would simply have the pipe someplace else in modelspace then use a field to reference the value and put that value on the "broken" pipe
---------------------------



(defun botsbuildbots() (botsbuildbots))
Contributor
Pretty
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎10-15-2006
Message 4 of 9 (123 Views)

Re: create break in a long pipe

11-03-2006 03:18 PM in reply to: Pretty
Hey Fatty,

Thanks so much. It just works perfect!! and is exactly what I am trying to do. I am new to this field and it is so nice to get help.

Thank you again,
Pretty
Contributor
Pretty
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎10-15-2006
Message 5 of 9 (123 Views)

Re: create break in a long pipe

11-03-2006 03:24 PM in reply to: Pretty
Thanks for your reply. I did not understand well what you are trying to say.

Pretty
Contributor
Pretty
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎10-15-2006
Message 6 of 9 (123 Views)

Re: create break in a long pipe

11-03-2006 03:31 PM in reply to: Pretty
Hey Fatty,

Thanks so much. It just works perfect!! and is exactly what I am trying to do. I am new to this field and it is so nice to get help.

Thank you again,
Pretty
*Expert Elite*
arcticad
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 7 of 9 (123 Views)

Re: create break in a long pipe

11-03-2006 04:16 PM in reply to: Pretty
Pretty,
I was talking about using custom fields, (smart text). You can select a value from another object and have it displayed in a text box someplace else.

You could draw your object and then have another copy of the object. Then reference the dimensions from the first object.
---------------------------



(defun botsbuildbots() (botsbuildbots))
Contributor
Pretty
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎10-15-2006
Message 8 of 9 (123 Views)

Re: create break in a long pipe

11-03-2006 04:21 PM in reply to: Pretty
Hi arcticad,

Now I understand by what you meant by drawing somewhere else in modelspace. I will try it out and let you know.

Thanks for clarifying.
Pretty
Distinguished Contributor
Fatty
Posts: 1,986
Registered: ‎08-02-2004
Message 9 of 9 (123 Views)

Re: create break in a long pipe

11-03-2006 11:10 PM in reply to: Pretty
Hi, Pretty
Glad to help
I think it's a time to learn some VBA basics
Here is a good place where you can get
the help on this way
Happy computing :smileyhappy:

Fatty

~'J'~
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.