Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
New Member
lypatric
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
Message 1 of 17 (2,036 Views)
Accepted Solution

Windows Authentication component broke???

2036 Views, 16 Replies
08-31-2011 01:27 PM

Hi all,

 

About two months ago, We upgraded our vault manufacturing 2010 to Vault professional 2011/SP1 and SP2.

And windows Authenticaiton works just fine. Up until last week users can no longer logon to vault using vault server by name. it worked if we use the server's IP ADDRESS along windows Authentication option.

 

I dont think this is a DNS issue. Because we can use vault local account to logon to vault server regardless we are using vault server by name or by IP Address.

 

Please help.

 

Thank you in advance.

 

 

HI Jeff,

 

As per our discussion today regarding your support case, we had you remove IIS, reinstall IIS and added in Roles:


Security

set basics authentication IIS Client Certificate mapping
Management Tools
IIS management scripts
IIS 6 management compatibility
IIS6 scripting tools

WinAuth settings in IIS, enabled Windows Authentication, disabled asp.net Impersonation.
Made sure default apppool regular time interval is set to suggested numbers per WinAuth White Paper (17400).

Stopped IIS. [using command iiisreset /stop]
Deleted the folder:
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Temporary ASP.NET Files\autodeskdm_services


Started IIS. [using command iiisreset /start]

Once all was added, WinAuth started functioning again.

 

Feel free to reply and add the screen shots taken fro others to review.

 

Please tag this as a solution to resolve this issue.

Product Support
herrerh
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
Message 2 of 17 (2,030 Views)

Re: Windows Authentication component broke???

08-31-2011 01:52 PM in reply to: lypatric

What error do you get when trying to login via Windows Authentication and the computer name?

 

Can you post the vlog from the server?



Hywell Herrero
Data Management Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
lypatric
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
Message 3 of 17 (1,998 Views)

Re: Windows Authentication component broke???

09-01-2011 11:18 AM in reply to: herrerh

Attached are the vlogs. Also attached an error message when we logged on to vault server using server name. Successful with IP address.

 

Best regards,

Distinguished Contributor
jeff_jordan
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
Message 4 of 17 (1,921 Views)

Re: Windows Authentication component broke???

11-11-2011 01:58 PM in reply to: lypatric

Did you find a solution for this?  I'm having the same issue.  Windows Authentication was working, but after Vault 2012 Pro Update 1 was applied, logins aren't working.

Autodesk Product Design Suite 2012 (Inventor 2012 Pro SP1, Vault 2012 Pro Update 1)
Windows 7, 64-bit
Intel Core i7
8GB
Nvidia Quadro FX 3800M
Distinguished Contributor
jeff_jordan
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
Message 5 of 17 (1,868 Views)

Re: Windows Authentication component broke???

11-23-2011 10:24 AM in reply to: jeff_jordan

Still broken!  Extremely frustrating.  Our consultants and Autodesk say they've never seen this before.

Autodesk Product Design Suite 2012 (Inventor 2012 Pro SP1, Vault 2012 Pro Update 1)
Windows 7, 64-bit
Intel Core i7
8GB
Nvidia Quadro FX 3800M
Product Support
r.smith1
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 6 of 17 (1,861 Views)

Re: Windows Authentication component broke???

11-23-2011 12:53 PM in reply to: jeff_jordan

HI Jeff,

 

As per our discussion today regarding your support case, we had you remove IIS, reinstall IIS and added in Roles:


Security

set basics authentication IIS Client Certificate mapping
Management Tools
IIS management scripts
IIS 6 management compatibility
IIS6 scripting tools

WinAuth settings in IIS, enabled Windows Authentication, disabled asp.net Impersonation.
Made sure default apppool regular time interval is set to suggested numbers per WinAuth White Paper (17400).

Stopped IIS. [using command iiisreset /stop]
Deleted the folder:
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Temporary ASP.NET Files\autodeskdm_services


Started IIS. [using command iiisreset /start]

Once all was added, WinAuth started functioning again.

 

Feel free to reply and add the screen shots taken fro others to review.

 

Please tag this as a solution to resolve this issue.



Ron Smith
Front Line Technical Support Specialist - Data Management
Autodesk, Inc.

http://help.autodesk.com/view/VAULT/2014/ENU/
http://crackingthevault.typepad.com/
http://underthehood-autodesk.typepad.com/
Distinguished Contributor
jeff_jordan
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
Message 7 of 17 (1,859 Views)

Re: Windows Authentication component broke???

11-23-2011 01:20 PM in reply to: r.smith1

Ron, thanks for all of your help today.  I've taken screenshots of almost all of our configurations for future reference.  Too many to post here, but if someone runs into this issue, perhaps I can help.  Enjoy your weekend!

Autodesk Product Design Suite 2012 (Inventor 2012 Pro SP1, Vault 2012 Pro Update 1)
Windows 7, 64-bit
Intel Core i7
8GB
Nvidia Quadro FX 3800M
Product Support
r.smith1
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 8 of 17 (1,855 Views)

Re: Windows Authentication component broke???

11-23-2011 01:37 PM in reply to: jeff_jordan

Thanks Jeff, You as well. 



Ron Smith
Front Line Technical Support Specialist - Data Management
Autodesk, Inc.

http://help.autodesk.com/view/VAULT/2014/ENU/
http://crackingthevault.typepad.com/
http://underthehood-autodesk.typepad.com/
Contributor
idubail
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
Message 9 of 17 (1,741 Views)

Re : Windows Authentication component broke???

03-20-2012 12:18 AM in reply to: lypatric

Hi Jeff,

 

I have exactly the same issue at the moment, can you please (!) explain me how you've resolved it ?

 

It occurs after installation of Upgrade 1 on Vault Pro 2012.

 

Thanks in advance !!! 

Contributor
idubail
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
Message 10 of 17 (1,731 Views)

Re : Windows Authentication component broke???

03-20-2012 01:25 AM in reply to: idubail

Hi,

 

Issue resolved... after reinstalling IIS, I used IP Adress instead of Server Name and it works !

 

Hope it helps, and hope that Autodesk is working on a solution !

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.