Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vault Virgin. Where do I Start

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
sbrusco
653 Views, 14 Replies

Vault Virgin. Where do I Start

Hi All,

Please be gentle as this is my first time getting and installing a license manager.

We bought 6 licenses of Vault Pro. IT set up a server to hold the license manager and gave me the server name and Mac Address and asked me to get the LM from Autodesk and install it.

W-W-W-WHAT????

Where do I go for that? How do I install it? Can someone please give me help?

Step-by-step instructions would be great because our VAR set up a LM for us for other software a couple years ago as I watched but he did a lot of "oops, let's back up a little" and "oh wait, skip that" so I didn't really learn how to do this.

I suspect there is/are instructional documents available on the Autodesk site but I couldn't find them.

TIA,

Sal

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
cbenner
in reply to: sbrusco
Message 3 of 15
Neil_Cross

The LM is the Network License Manager, it's a small lightweight application which comes on all Autodesk software media.

For Vault, you usually find the License Manager installer here:

64bit - x64\Tools\NLM\NLM.msi

32bit - x86\Tools\NLM\NLM.msi

Those folders are in the Vault download/memory stick.

The license manager is installed on a server, usually the Vault server itself unless you have good reasons for it to be somewhere else.

The license manager will then tell you your server name and MAC address.  If you look at the image below, this is a caption of one of my servers.

Red star is the server name.

Blue star is the MAC address.

LM.jpg