Vault General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
dswloram
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-03-2004
Message 1 of 13 (82 Views)

Vault To Vault Copy

82 Views, 12 Replies
06-14-2007 08:15 AM
I would like to copy a data set from one vault to another. It’s over 2 thousand parts so checking them out and into the new one is out of the question. Does anyone know how to do this?
*Dave Hoder
Message 2 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-14-2007 08:58 AM in reply to: dswloram
Why is 2000 parts an issue?
*Dave Hoder
Message 3 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-14-2007 09:01 AM in reply to: dswloram
Sorry, short circuit. Depending on their location you can Get Entire Folder
or use Advanced find and get them out all at once. Use the Autoloader to put
them into your other vault.
Contributor
dswloram
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-03-2004
Message 4 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-14-2007 09:27 AM in reply to: dswloram
To uses Autoloader the files will still have to be moved/downloaded to a local spot.
*Dave Hoder
Message 5 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-14-2007 09:37 AM in reply to: dswloram
2000 parts should take about 3 minutes to get out of the vault.
Contributor
dswloram
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-03-2004
Message 6 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-14-2007 11:31 AM in reply to: dswloram
Ok, the issue is not the number of files it’s the process. A manual process of checking to make sure that your getting the full data set you’re asking for. I would like to bypass the checking and just get the data no matter what the status is.
*Ryan Small [SolidCAD]
Message 7 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-14-2007 12:50 PM in reply to: dswloram
My suggestion would be to use Pack and Go on the top-level assembly.
This should make the process of retrieving the files (including the
upstream drawings) pretty simple.

By the way, i'm referring to the pack and go from in vault; not the
"inventor-based" one.

Then, use Autoloader to put them into the other vault.

-Ryan

Ryan Small
SolidCAD

dswloram wrote:
> Ok, the issue is not the number of files it’s the process. A manual process of checking to make sure that your getting the full data set you’re asking for. I would like to bypass the checking and just get the data no matter what the status is.
Contributor
dswloram
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-03-2004
Message 8 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-14-2007 01:27 PM in reply to: dswloram
Thanks I just tried.
I would have to do every level one at a time because Pack and Go does not work when using it based on a select of more then one. That would work if the data set were under a single assembly
*Madhanagopal T \(Autodesk\)
Message 9 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-18-2007 02:45 AM in reply to: dswloram
You may try creating "Labels" from "Tools" menu and use "Pack and Go"
utility in the same dialog. In this way, you can pack more than one
assembly. Please refer the attached image for more information. Hope this
helps.



If you have any questions, please let me know.



Regards,

Madhan





wrote in message news:5626931@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks I just tried.
I would have to do every level one at a time because Pack and Go does not
work when using it based on a select of more then one. That would work if
the data set were under a single assembly
*Dave Hoder
Message 10 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Vault To Vault Copy

06-18-2007 08:40 AM in reply to: dswloram
Wow! Great tip Madhan. Thanks!
Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.