Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
Bill.Schmid
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 1 of 7 (470 Views)
Accepted Solution

Vault Pro 2013 - Scheduled Backup Question

470 Views, 6 Replies
10-05-2012 07:23 AM

I'm asking this on behalf of our IT department.

 

They let Vault run its scheduled backups.  When it does, the file name seems to be a unique name that includes the date and time.  IT runs a backup on computer running Vault.  Those backups are already serialized by date.  So the serialized Vault backups are redundant.

 

Is there any way to have Vault backup, preferably to a network drive, every night using the same file name for the backup?  If necessary, it could be to a local drive.  Using the same file name every time seems to be the key.

 

Bill,

 

The backup can run from command line parameters on a schedule using the Windows Task Scheduler.

See Command Line Server Console

 

You can wrap the command line in a batch file and perform what you are looking for.

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 577
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 2 of 7 (465 Views)

Re: Vault Pro 2013 - Scheduled Backup Question

10-05-2012 08:09 AM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

Sorry but currently the name of the backup folder is not configurable.



Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
Bill.Schmid
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 3 of 7 (462 Views)

Re: Vault Pro 2013 - Scheduled Backup Question

10-05-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: ihayesjr

How about the "over-write" part?  Can it be made to delete the previous night's backup?  Any plans to improve the configurability of the backup feature?

 

Just so it's understood what's happening: Vault makes its full backup of X gig.  Next night, new backup next to the old one - 2X gig.  Then 3X, 4X, etc.  The backup Vault makes is then getting backed up elsewhere.  Once that's backed up, it doesn't need to be backed up again and again.  But unless we manually delete the previous files, that's what happens.

 

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 577
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 4 of 7 (455 Views)

Re: Vault Pro 2013 - Scheduled Backup Question

10-05-2012 10:11 AM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

Here is an example script that you can use to delete the old backup.  You can modify it to fit your needs.

 

@ECHO OFF

REM PROVIDING THE BEST RESULTS FOR BACKING UP THE VAULT

REM DELETE B AND CASCADE A BACKUP SUBDIRECTORIES

RMDIR /Q /S "C:\Backup\Vault\B"

REN C:\Backup\Vault\A B

REM CREATE A NEW DIRECTORY FOR THE BACKUP

MKDIR "C:\Backup\Vault\A\"

REM START THE BACKUP PROCESS (THIS IS ONE LINE OF TEXT)

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Data Management Server 2008\ADMS Console\Connectivity.ADMSConsole.exe" –Obackup -B"C:\Backup\Vault\A" -VUadministrator –VP<password> -S



Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
Bill.Schmid
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 5 of 7 (445 Views)

Re: Vault Pro 2013 - Scheduled Backup Question

10-05-2012 10:49 AM in reply to: ihayesjr

Looks a lot like a batch file.  Would this be run from outside Vault?  IT tells me Vault doesn't allow scripting.

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 577
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 6 of 7 (442 Views)

Re: Vault Pro 2013 - Scheduled Backup Question

10-05-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

Bill,

 

The backup can run from command line parameters on a schedule using the Windows Task Scheduler.

See Command Line Server Console

 

You can wrap the command line in a batch file and perform what you are looking for.



Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
Bill.Schmid
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 7 of 7 (432 Views)

Re: Vault Pro 2013 - Scheduled Backup Question

10-05-2012 11:54 AM in reply to: ihayesjr

Looks like that ought to work.  They were setting it up and trying it.  Thank you.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.