Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Mpendlebury
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Message 1 of 6 (565 Views)

Vault - Check in Errors / Odd Vault behavior

565 Views, 5 Replies
08-27-2012 03:51 AM

Hi,


Most common problem i have is users not being able to check in their work. Now sometimes im at loss to explain vaults behavior. Maybe im doing something horribly wrong with the usage of our vault. it does seem to work about 80% of the time though.  I'm starting to think it might be because files are not detatching from projects correctly ? or its confusing which project a file is in.   


Top two examples 


I have a file thats already checked into a project. checked it out for edit normally. when i go to check it back in ...it showns I have no projects in my vault. I go to detach the file (brute force in mind) it it tells me its already attached to a projet and cant be dettached... 

 

We normally check our work in through the prospector. Most times we see normal the dialog box, which allows us to refrence our surfaces in civil3d but some times we get the other check in dialog box, which does not allow the referncing of surfaces and the only solutuion i have is restarting pc's and retrying untill it eventually behaves, which can be anythign from 1 to 10 times.... and no hints on why it starts behaving again.

 

Does checking in with the ribbion or the prospector have anything to do with it ? 

 

Vault 2013

Civil3d 2013

Windows 7 x64

Intel Xeon X6575

24 Gig Ram

 

 

 

Product Support
Henry.Huang
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Message 2 of 6 (497 Views)

Re: Vault - Check in Errors / Odd Vault behavior

09-04-2012 02:26 AM in reply to: Mpendlebury
Hi, Mpendlebury , 
 
which vault are you using? Vault basic or Vault professional? or VW, VC? 
 
do you have Specific workflow on it? 
 
I'd like to test your issue on my machine, if i can get more detail information, it will be great. 

 




Henry Huang
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
Mpendlebury
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Message 3 of 6 (488 Views)

Re: Vault - Check in Errors / Odd Vault behavior

09-04-2012 03:30 AM in reply to: Henry.Huang

Henry,

We all use civil3d 2013, and Vault workgroup 2013 for both client and sever side all pretty sure its all x64.

 

We don't have a special work flow, that I can think of. I almost always exclusively use the civil3d prospector to check in and out all our work, but if prospector is refusing to work I may try the vault ribbon for giggles and often it works when the prospector refuses to check in a file, or let met add models to a project.

 

I have tried using the only the vault ribbon too before and when I eventually get errors and refuses to check  in using the ribbon I can usually check it in via the prospector tab?


I use the prospector because I find the ribbon is more likely to let me check in a file with out being able to add the surfaces.

 

As for the dialog boxes changing and not letting you add surfaces to the project that's seems very random to me, some  times a restart cad will fix its some times restarting the pc will fix it... Some times 5 restarts of the are needed to fix it. The file can miss behave, one afternoon and never give you a problem again, and some files seems to more consistently misbehave but nothing, but I can see any connection, or circum stances that lead to it.


I think a lot of our check in errors in general might be coming from vault failing to detach drawings properly from a project, if you get dwg that is checked in, when you save as it will ask you if you want to detach it from the current project.  If you detach you will notice the prospector still shows its attached to a project and you can detach it again? Maybe its picking up that its already in another project incorrectly that has no references attached so it just wants to do a "straight" check in ? 

 

Would not explain the  dialog boxes though becasue it could be a model thats up version 30 before it decideds to not to work.

 

I have also been considering implementing using the vaulted sheet sets (.DSS) the sheet set manager seem to treat checking in differently again. Where do I control the settings for sheet manager? Example it seems to default to creating visualization files instead of sending them to the job sever, but only if you check work in and out through the sheet set manager tab.

 

I have a host of other check in errors too if you're keen. Most of them go away when you repeatedly try to check them in, but for no reason I can workout. All of which are seem equally as random and the prescribed method of fixing them is to just keep trying. 

The problems happen across all our machines, and we have even changed sever pc's that hasn't helped. It's not a 2013 thing, it does this in previous versions as well.

 

Hope this helps, thanks for trying.


Mike

 

 

Product Support
Henry.Huang
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Message 4 of 6 (433 Views)

Re: Vault - Check in Errors / Odd Vault behavior

09-09-2012 11:46 PM in reply to: Mpendlebury

When working with Civil 3D user can run into the AutoCAD Check In dialog instead of the Civil 3D Check In dialog and following are the scenarios where that can happen:

 

1. User logs into Vault Basic Sever from Civil 3D (but this particular customer confirmed that they are using Vault Workgroup) – if the customer has Vault Basic Client installed on the machines where they are seeing the AutoCAD Check In dialog, you can suggest them to uninstall the Vault Basic Client on those machines.

2. User launches Civil 3D as AutoCAD

3. User is working with Sheet Sets and checks in drawings from either Sheet Set Manager interface

4. User generates sheets from Plan Production tools (under Output tab) in Civil 3D and selects Vault as the destination for those sheets

 

I can’t think of any other scenarios where user may see the AutoCAD Check In dialog. 




Henry Huang
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
Mpendlebury
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Message 5 of 6 (416 Views)

Re: Vault - Check in Errors / Odd Vault behavior

09-11-2012 10:06 PM in reply to: Henry.Huang

Henry,

 

I can defiantly rule out number 4.

 

Number 3 The sheet set never gives you the option to add surfaces that's consistent and seems fine.

Unless it's been checked in through a sheet set previously and "remembering"  a setting.


I really don't think number 2 is applicable either.  If they had launched civil 3d as autocad, say by double clicking on a file when the default application was set to civil3d as autocad ?   It would say autocad 2013 on the top window bar and not Autocad civil 3d 2013  ? How can they have the prospector, in the tool space tab if its not civil 3d?

 

As a work around for this problem is it possible to change a surfaces status in the vault to shared?

There seem to be a lot of possible work flows to check data in and out of the vault. Is there a preferred method or best practice's guide for this ?

 

 

 

Employee
achintam
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 6 of 6 (399 Views)

Re: Vault - Check in Errors / Odd Vault behavior

09-13-2012 02:07 PM in reply to: Mpendlebury

Hello,

 

Whenever you perform a Check In from the Sheet Set Manager interface inside Civil 3D, you will see standard Check In dialog but if you perform Check In from anywhere else, such as the ribbon, Prospector, Xref Manager, command-line, etc. inside Civil 3D, you will see the Check In wizard that you will allow you to share any objects the drawing has.  In your case though, based on your explanation so far, it appears that you are seeing (randomly) the standard Check In dialog even when checking in from Prospector.  We are unable to reproduce the issue here.  You may want to consider using Sheet Set Manager interface for Checking Out and Checking In Sheet drawings and Prospector for Check Out and Checking In drawings with objects that can be shared and see if the problem goes away.

 

 

Regarding your question about turning off publishing DWF files during Check In from Sheet Set Manager, on the standard Check In dialog select Settings button and on the Settings dialog, uncheck the box Create visualization attachment.

 

Hope that helps.

 

Regards

Anil Chintamaneni (Autodesk)



Anil Chintamaneni
User Experience Designer
Data Management
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.