Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Studioworx
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 11 of 25 (1,236 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-13-2011 12:10 PM in reply to: nijpels

Hi Guys

 

Has anyone from Autodesk got an idea of a solution or when a solution might be found for this issue? It seems it's gaining momentum:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Vault/Vault-2012-Copy-Design-Error-Value-cannot-be-null/td-p/...

 

I just experienced the same error today for the first time, with Vault 2012 during copy design.

 

I am thinking of a temporary work-around as my customer is migrating from Vault 2009 to 2012.

So I have backed up and migrated the 2009 to 2011, backed up 2011, and migrated to 2012.

 

So I have a valid 2011 vault backup that allows a copy design with no errors. Can you use Inventor 2012 Vault add-in and Vault Client 2012 with Vault server 2011?

 

Any help would be useful as I'm pretty stuck like the others in these posts.

 

Cheers

 

Dan

Distinguished Contributor
jparks_79
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-23-2008
Message 12 of 25 (1,231 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-13-2011 12:22 PM in reply to: Studioworx

Hi Dan,

 

Autodesk says they know of the problem and are working currently to resolve it. But they aren't promising when it will be resolved. I do know that the error is not happening on all databases. So some people are not experiencing any problems, while other lucky ones, are getting to really enjoy it. :-)

 

I would issue a ticket if you have subscription center. Sorry, I don't know anything else on the error.

 

Regards,

Jeremy

Contributor
nijpels
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-03-2007
Message 13 of 25 (1,222 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-14-2011 01:32 AM in reply to: jparks_79

I've got the same answer from Autodesk via my reseller/supplier. My supplier is also looking into this.

We will try to get my back-up copy installed on there vault, see what it does.

Thimo Nijpels
Comus Technology BV
Netherlands
http://www.dry-reeds.com
Contributor
nijpels
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-03-2007
Message 14 of 25 (1,221 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-14-2011 01:38 AM in reply to: Studioworx

DanDoleman wrote:

So I have a valid 2011 vault backup that allows a copy design with no errors. Can you use Inventor 2012 Vault add-in and Vault Client 2012 with Vault server 2011?

Hi Dan,

 

I tried this already, but they don't connect. But I didn't try to install Vault 2011 add-in on Inventor 2012, but I think it won't work. The other way around is no problem (Inventor 2011 on Vault 2012) with the updates on this site

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Vault/VAULT-2012-ADDIN-FOR-INVENTOR-2011-IS-HERE/td-p/3048748

Thimo Nijpels
Comus Technology BV
Netherlands
http://www.dry-reeds.com
Active Contributor
Studioworx
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 15 of 25 (1,218 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-14-2011 02:11 AM in reply to: Studioworx

Cheers for the responses, always good to feel you are not alone!

 

I'm going to do some basic maintenance on the migrated 2011 Vault, (which I know is good for copy design) back it up and restore it again to 2012 to see if the same problem occurs.

 

Be good to know if/when there is a fix out there, the main thing we use is copy-design!

 

Dan

Product Support
r.smith1
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 16 of 25 (1,207 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-14-2011 01:10 PM in reply to: nijpels

Would you please send a screen capture of your Administration>Vault Settings>Define Working Folder dialog please?



Ron Smith
Front Line Technical Support Specialist - Data Management
Autodesk, Inc.

http://help.autodesk.com/view/VAULT/2014/ENU/
http://crackingthevault.typepad.com/
http://underthehood-autodesk.typepad.com/
Active Contributor
Studioworx
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 17 of 25 (1,202 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-14-2011 01:20 PM in reply to: Studioworx

I wasn't sure if this was aimed at me or not but I have attached a screen shot of the dialog box.

 

Dan

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
jparks_79
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-23-2008
Message 18 of 25 (1,198 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-14-2011 01:26 PM in reply to: Studioworx

Hi Dan,

 

Try changing your working folder to "c:\designs"

 

That fixed mine. I had 'c"\" as well.

 

Regards,

Jeremy

 

ps. Thanks Ron :-)

Product Support
r.smith1
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 19 of 25 (1,195 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-14-2011 01:31 PM in reply to: jparks_79

Below is a recommended configurtion for setting up defined working folders.  We have discovered that having the working folder set to C:\ is the issue at this time.  Please set up a workking folder structure similar to the below link along with a new IPJ, restart Vault Explorer and test. 

http://underthehood-autodesk.typepad.com/.services/blog/6a012877799c1c970c0120a8774ea8970b/search?fi...



Ron Smith
Front Line Technical Support Specialist - Data Management
Autodesk, Inc.

http://help.autodesk.com/view/VAULT/2014/ENU/
http://crackingthevault.typepad.com/
http://underthehood-autodesk.typepad.com/
Active Contributor
Studioworx
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 20 of 25 (1,185 Views)

Re: Vault 2012 Copy Design error; Value cannot be null; Parameter name: value

06-14-2011 02:17 PM in reply to: r.smith1

Hi guys,

 

Thanks for that suggestion, that error has gone away now I changed the working folder from C: to C:\Designs\ as a test.

I have just tried a copy-design on a single iam and idw and it now comes up with the attached message.. any ideas??

 

I did just try this over a VPN so will try it live tomorrow on-site (sat on sofa at home currently... :-) ) and report back but it anyone has any suggested solutions?

 

Ron, I completely adhere to the rules outlined in Brian's Blog. One thing I also noted was that the Project file is not at the Root of the Vault, it's in the "Data" folder. I would have thought this just wouldn't work, but it does.

It's funny I never set this Vault up back in 2008 but it's been like that ever since and seems to work ok. See attached.

 

Should I leave it as "if it ain't broke don't fix it" or should I create a new vault project at the root of the vault, tell the Vault options to use that Inventor project and delete the existing project? - recommendations?

 

Funny now I get involved, with it being set up in a way that goes against my usual best practice it starts playing up for me!

 

Thanks for your help so far!

 

Dan

 

 

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.