Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 1 of 11 (512 Views)

Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

512 Views, 10 Replies
02-09-2012 11:20 AM

"Attempted to read or write protected memory" and "File open failed."

 

Our Job server is a virtual machine running on the Vault server (which is a Windows Server 2008 R2 that has plenty of resources to handle both jobs). In the VM, AutoCAD Architecture 2011 opens without issue, and open the files that the job server is unable to process. Any idea on what causes this?  (Using VMWare Player, Windows 7 64 bit professional install inside the VM)

 

I reveived this error one while messing with the Job Server window (see attached)

Employee
JamesMcMullen
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Message 2 of 11 (506 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

02-09-2012 11:47 AM in reply to: BSchubring

Based on the attached image, I am wondering if you physical or VMware machine is out of space.

 

-Jim

Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 3 of 11 (504 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

02-09-2012 11:49 AM in reply to: JamesMcMullen

the VM has only a single drive associated with it, on which everything is installed. (C:\) The drive is at 161 out of 249GB. Space should not be an issue as far as I can tell.

Employee
JamesMcMullen
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Message 4 of 11 (499 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

02-09-2012 11:53 AM in reply to: BSchubring

How much space is free on the host?

Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 5 of 11 (497 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

02-09-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: JamesMcMullen

The VM is stored in VMware Player's default location- C:\Users\%user%\Documents\Virtual Machines\VM_Name, and C:\ is at 99 GB Free out of 250GB. :/  I agree with the appearance that the drive is full from the error, however it doesn't seem to be the case.

 

I just did a full reboot of the host and the VM.  The Job queue is now processing and completing jobs. (just watched it chew through 6 previously failed drawings) As a data point, the host is fine on resources (RAM/CPU/Disk activity), the VM is 100% CPU, and fine on the other resources.  I wonder if sometimes the job server crashes on the back end without ever displaying a proper error.  I'll keep an eye on it, thanks for the responses; I appreciate your help any advice you might have based on this information!

Employee
JamesMcMullen
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Message 6 of 11 (495 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

02-09-2012 12:10 PM in reply to: BSchubring

Please let us know what you find.  I would hope that if the Job Processor is crashing that we would have a better error / warning for you. 

 

-Jim

Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 7 of 11 (491 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

02-09-2012 01:16 PM in reply to: JamesMcMullen

Hm, it got through a few drawings but when I returned to check on it, the Queue had returned the same errors for the rest of the drawings. I resubmitted the queue, and when I checked on it again, I see two drawing had errors, and the rest are Pending.  

 

Checking on the server, I see the following error:

 

Fatal Error

DBX CAS 4

 

Hitting OK dismisses the diaglog box, moves to the next job, and the box pops back up. The queue reports the following for each drawing:

Status:Error

Results: File open Failed.

(the results field is blank on some)

Employee
JamesMcMullen
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Message 8 of 11 (474 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

02-10-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: BSchubring

I did a quick google search on DBX CAS 4.  It potentially has something to do with AutoCAD.  What version of AutoCAD do you have and is it up to the latest service pack level? 

 

-Jim

Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 9 of 11 (472 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

02-10-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: BSchubring

AutoCAD Architecture 2011 English version 3.

 

I'll assume v1 is base install, v2 is sp1, v3 is sp2?  Both patches are in in the directory with the install files on our server, so I assume that I used both when I installed it.  Looking at the hotfixes page, I don't see anything else in there that looks like it's related.

 

Looking at installed updates on the Job Server, I see Mechanical at Version 3, Inventor at SP2, Vault client at SP2, and 3DS Max at SP2. (all 2011 products)

Valued Contributor
jddrinkwater
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-03-2012
Message 10 of 11 (311 Views)

Re: Vault 2011 Pro Job Queue returning errors:

10-03-2012 05:12 PM in reply to: BSchubring

Any conclusion to this issue?  

 

Today my job processor went haywire and threw the same errors (standalone computer, Vault pro 2012).  I didn't notice until this evening and in the meantime more than 100 0jobs have piled up the the queue, so i can't tell if it's back to normal or not after restarting.

 

Thanks,

John

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.