Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about a new Vault set-up

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
mrattray
782 Views, 9 Replies

Questions about a new Vault set-up

I'm working towards moving my company to a Vaulted set-up for Inventor files. I have zero experience with Vault, so I obviously have some questions.

Some info: We currently have 5 designers. We're somewhere between an OEM and a job shop with standard designs that are always a little different, so being able to copy a design and edit it headache free is critical. It will be very rare that more than one of us ever touches the same project at the same time, but we'll likely be "borrowing" data from each others projects pretty frequently.  We'll likely be vaulting some non-CAD data (i.e. office and image files) if the option is available, but it's not a high priority.

1) Basic vs. WorkGroup vs. Pro: I found AutoDesk's break down of the differences... but found no meaning in it. Can anyone give me a quick overview of the real differences, the pros and cons, of the different packages? Prefereably without all of the marketing fluff and buzzwords. Opinions are welcome here.

2) My IT guy wants to save some money by using a dedicated workstation in place of a traditional server. Is there any reason I should tell him no? I'm not sure I really understand the difference.

3) Is there any sort of decent guide or advice out there for transferring a disaster of files into the Vault without making a mess of things?

4) I understand how project files work in the non-vaulted world, but how do they behave with Vault?