Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Physical filename /logical file name

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
FloraSeymour
822 Views, 10 Replies

Physical filename /logical file name

An autodesk user  has deleted some files from Autodesk in error.  We do not want to restore the whole system.  We know the logical name of the file but do not know how to map it to a physical file name.  If I knew the physical file we could restore it to a temporary area and then set it up again in Autodesk . I have restored the Autodesk SQL database to a temporary area prior to the delete. Is there a SQL query I can run to find out what the physical path/files name is for the logical file that was deleted in error ? (I am a DBA and have no real Autodesk experience).

Thanks

Flora

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
ihayesjr
in reply to: FloraSeymour

I would recommend that you perform a full restore on a separate system and pull the files that way.  This will be the easiest less accident prone way to get the files you need.

Irvin Hayes Jr
Sr. Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Vault - Under the Hood Blog
Message 3 of 11
FloraSeymour
in reply to: ihayesjr

Gee...  That would mean finding a place to restore almost 400gigs of files and  when I am only missing 2.  If I could only find out the path/file name,  it would be so easy to restore the 2 files to a temporarary area.  Any other thoughts on this ?   I guess If full restore is only way so be it ..   Thanks.

Message 4 of 11
FloraSeymour

..btw.. to clrifiy, the missing filess were deleted using Autodesk.. not at os level or anything like that ... so I am not trying to re-piece something back togther outside the system.. just want to restore the file to a temp area and then the users will put in back in autodesk using autodesk.
Message 5 of 11
cbenner